Your Cart

Your cart is currently empty.

ACCA

ACCA Fees and Total Cost: What You'll Actually Pay

Layered cost components of the ACCA qualification building toward a total

ACCA (the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants) does not publish a single global fee figure, and no verified source gives a fixed total cost. The total depends on your country, how many exams you sit (exemptions reduce this), when you book exams, and your study route. ACCA Global's own fees pages, checked at the time you register, are the only reliable source for exact amounts.

What is this?

ACCA stands for the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants, the UK-founded global professional body that administers the ACCA Qualification. Becoming an ACCA member requires passing ACCA exams, completing the Ethics and Professional Skills module, and meeting the Practical Experience Requirement — a minimum of 36 months of relevant work experience plus 9 performance objectives (ACCA Global).

Key takeaway

Becoming a member of the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA) requires completing ACCA exams, an Ethics and Professional Skills module, and a Practical Experience Requirement.

ACCA Global
Key takeaway

The ACCA Practical Experience Requirement is a minimum of 36 months of relevant work experience plus 9 performance objectives.

ACCA Global
Key takeaway

During ACCA's online registration process, an application fee is displayed before submission and can be paid by debit or credit card, or Alipay.

ACCA Global
Key takeaway

The ACCA Qualification is being redesigned by ACCA Global, with the first exams under the new structure scheduled for 2027.

ACCA Global
Key takeaway

Minimum entrance requirements for the ACCA Qualification vary by country, with the same prior qualification treated as sufficient for registration in one country and insufficient in another.

ACCA Global

Key takeaways

  • ACCA has not published, in the sources available for this article, a single confirmed total cost figure — treat any specific total you see elsewhere as an estimate, not an official number
  • Becoming an ACCA member requires passing ACCA exams, completing the Ethics and Professional Skills module, and meeting the Practical Experience Requirement (ACCA Global)
  • The Practical Experience Requirement is a minimum of 36 months of relevant work experience plus 9 performance objectives (ACCA Global)
  • An application fee appears during online registration, payable by debit/credit card or Alipay — the exact amount is shown at the point of registration, not published as a fixed global figure
  • Minimum entrance requirements, and by extension how many exams and exemptions apply, vary by country and prior qualification (ACCA Global)
  • The ACCA Qualification is being redesigned, with the first exams under the new structure in 2027 — this could affect the exam count and cost structure for future candidates (ACCA Global)
Governing bodyAssociation of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA)
Fixed global fee published?No — fees vary by country and are shown at registration
Minimum professional experience required36 months plus 9 performance objectives (ACCA Global)
Qualification redesignFirst exams under new structure from 2027 (ACCA Global)
Registration payment methods (application fee)Debit/credit card, Alipay (ACCA Global)

ACCA — The Association of Chartered Certified Accountants, the global professional body that administers the ACCA Qualification and sets its exam, ethics, and experience requirements.

Practical Experience Requirement (PER) — The work-experience component of the ACCA Qualification: a minimum of 36 months of relevant employment plus 9 performance objectives, verified by ACCA Global.

Ethics and Professional Skills module — A module required for ACCA membership alongside exams and practical experience, as set out by ACCA Global.

Exemption — A waiver from sitting a specific ACCA exam, typically granted based on prior qualifications; exemptions reduce the number of exams a candidate must sit and pay for, though ACCA Global's entrance requirements show eligibility for exemptions varies by country and qualification.

How much does ACCA cost in total?

There is no single confirmed total figure for ACCA in the sources this article is grounded in — ACCA Global does not publish one fixed worldwide cost, because the total depends on your country, how many exams you need after exemptions, your study materials, and whether you hit early, standard, or late booking deadlines.

Every page claiming a specific total (for example, a fixed dollar or rupee figure covering the whole qualification) is estimating, not quoting an ACCA Global figure, because ACCA does not publish one universal total. What is confirmed is the structure of costs: an application fee shown during registration (ACCA Global), ongoing costs tied to exams and the Ethics and Professional Skills module, and the professional experience component, which does not carry an exam fee but does require your time. Because minimum entrance requirements and exemption eligibility vary by country, two candidates with different qualifications or from different countries can end up sitting a different number of exams — which materially changes what they pay. The only way to get an exact figure for your situation is to check ACCA Global's official fees pages directly at the time you register, since fees are reviewed and can change. Budgeting for ACCA is really budgeting for a variable, not a fixed, number.

What is the one-time registration fee?

ACCA Global's registration process shows an application fee on screen before you submit your application, but the sources available do not confirm a specific published amount.

According to ACCA Global's guidance on minimum entrance requirements, the application fee appears as part of the online registration workflow and is payable by debit or credit card, or by Alipay (ACCA Global). This is a one-time cost tied to becoming a registered ACCA student, distinct from the annual subscription and exam fees that follow. Because the exact figure is displayed only during the live registration process and is not stated as a fixed global amount in ACCA Global's published materials reviewed here, the reliable way to know your registration fee is to begin the registration process on ACCA's own site and check the amount shown before you pay — rather than relying on a number quoted on a third-party page, which may be outdated or country-specific.

What is the annual subscription fee and when is it due?

The sources available for this article do not confirm a specific annual subscription fee amount or due date — this is a real, recurring cost of remaining an ACCA student or member, but the figure and timing must be checked directly on ACCA Global's official fees page.

ACCA Global's structure documents confirm that becoming and remaining an ACCA member involves ongoing obligations beyond passing exams once — the qualification is built around continued registration, not a single payment (ACCA Global). Subscription-style fees are a normal feature of professional bodies that maintain a public register of qualified members, since the fee funds continued administration, ethics oversight, and support services. What is not established in the sources reviewed here is the exact amount or the exact date it falls due each year. If you are budgeting, build in a recurring annual cost as a placeholder line item and confirm the real figure on ACCA's official site before finalising your budget, since this is exactly the kind of figure that changes and should not be quoted from memory or from older third-party articles.

How much does each exam cost at Knowledge, Skills, and Professional levels?

ACCA Global's published qualification structure confirms that ACCA exams span multiple levels, but the sources reviewed for this article do not include a per-exam fee figure for the Applied Knowledge, Applied Skills, or Strategic Professional levels.

It is well established that becoming an ACCA member requires completing ACCA exams as one of three core components, alongside the Ethics and Professional Skills module and the Practical Experience Requirement (ACCA Global). It is common industry knowledge that exam fees typically increase as you move up through exam levels and that fees are usually cheaper the earlier you book — but neither the specific fee amounts nor the exact tiering by level are confirmed in the ACCA Global pages available here. Rather than repeat a number that cannot be verified against ACCA's own published fee schedule, the honest position is: check ACCA Global's current fees page for the exact per-exam cost at each level before you plan your ACCA exam pattern and budget, because these figures are reviewed and can change without warning on third-party pages that quote an old rate.

How do early/standard/late booking deadlines affect exam fee prices?

Booking exams closer to the sitting typically costs more than booking early, but the exact early, standard, and late fee amounts are not confirmed in the sources this article is grounded in.

Tiered booking pricing — where the same exam costs less the earlier you register for it — is a standard feature of many professional exam bodies' fee structures, and candidates should plan exam bookings well in advance as a general cost-control strategy. However, ACCA Global's specific early/standard/late fee amounts, and how much more a late booking costs relative to an early one, are not stated in the ACCA Global extracts available for this article. Do not budget against a specific late-fee penalty figure you've seen elsewhere without confirming it on ACCA's live fees calendar, since booking windows and their associated price differences are exactly the kind of detail that is reviewed and updated regularly. If cost control matters to your budget, the practical action is to build your study planner around the earliest booking window available for each sitting, rather than the last one.

Are there extra costs like exemption fees, re-registration, or reinstatement fees?

ACCA does apply a separate fee logic to exemptions from prior qualifications, and lapsed students may face re-registration or reinstatement costs, but exact amounts for any of these are not confirmed in the sources available here.

ACCA Global's minimum entrance requirements confirm that eligibility for exemptions depends on your prior qualification and your country — the same qualification can be marked 'Sufficient' for registration in one country and 'Insufficient' in another (ACCA Global). Exemptions typically carry their own fee, separate from the exam fee they replace, and candidates who let their registration lapse commonly face a reinstatement or re-registration charge to become active again — but neither of these amounts is stated in the sources reviewed for this article. If exemptions apply to you, the number of exams you actually need to sit — and therefore your total exam fee cost — can be meaningfully lower than a candidate with no exemptions. Confirm both your exemption eligibility and the exemption fee with ACCA Global directly, since this single decision can be the biggest lever on your total cost.

Can I finish ACCA in 2 years?

It is not confirmed by the sources reviewed here whether a 2-year completion timeline is realistic, because completion time depends on the number of exams you need after exemptions, how many sittings you attempt per year, and whether you also need to complete the 36-month Practical Experience Requirement within that window.

ACCA Global confirms that becoming a member requires ACCA exams, the Ethics and Professional Skills module, and a Practical Experience Requirement of a minimum of 36 months' relevant work experience plus 9 performance objectives (ACCA Global). That 36-month minimum is itself longer than 2 years, which means a candidate aiming to be a fully qualified ACCA member — not just exam-complete — within 2 years would need to have started accumulating relevant work experience before, or very early in, their exam journey. Exam-only completion in 2 years is more plausible for candidates with several exemptions and the ability to sit multiple exams per year, but this is a study-planning question, not a fee question, and the exact number of exams remaining after exemptions should be confirmed with ACCA before assuming any timeline.

Can I get ACCA for free?

No source reviewed for this article confirms a free route to the ACCA Qualification — registration involves an application fee, and exams and the Ethics and Professional Skills module carry costs that ACCA Global does not describe as waivable for candidates generally.

What some candidates mean by 'free ACCA' is employer sponsorship: many employers who hire trainee accountants pay some or all of a candidate's ACCA registration, subscription, and exam fees as part of a training contract. This is a common industry practice, but it is an employer policy, not an ACCA Global fee waiver, and its availability depends entirely on your employer and country — it is not something ACCA Global's own fee structure confirms or guarantees. If minimising your own out-of-pocket cost is the priority, the realistic paths are securing an employer-sponsored training role, or checking with your college or tuition provider about scholarships, rather than expecting ACCA itself to offer free registration or exams.

Is ACCA harder than CFA?

Difficulty is not something the ACCA Global sources reviewed for this article compare against the Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA) program, so no verified answer can be given — the two qualifications differ in subject focus (accounting and audit versus investment analysis), structure, and pass requirements, which makes a direct difficulty ranking a matter of opinion rather than fact.

ACCA and the CFA credential (administered by the CFA Institute) test different domains: ACCA's exams span financial reporting, audit, tax, and strategic business skills within the ACCA Qualification structure confirmed by ACCA Global (ACCA Global), while CFA exams focus on investment and portfolio management. Comparing 'harder' across two exams testing different skill sets is inherently subjective, and no authoritative source establishes a difficulty ranking between them. A more useful question than 'which is harder' is 'which tests the skills my target career needs' — read our CPA vs CMA vs ACCA vs EA comparison for how these credentials differ by career path rather than by difficulty.

Is ACCA better than CPA?

Neither ACCA Global nor any source reviewed for this article ranks ACCA against the CPA (Certified Public Accountant) credential as 'better' — they are governed by different bodies, built around different regulatory systems, and suited to different career paths, so the right choice depends on where and how you want to practise.

ACCA is administered by the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants and leads to ACCA membership through exams, the Ethics and Professional Skills module, and the Practical Experience Requirement (ACCA Global). The CPA credential in the United States is governed by individual US state boards of accountancy, each setting its own eligibility and licensing requirements. Because the two sit under entirely different regulatory systems in different parts of the world, 'better' depends on your target jurisdiction and employer, not on an objective ranking. See the CPA vs CMA vs ACCA vs EA comparison for a side-by-side on career fit.

Is ACCA difficult than CA?

No source reviewed for this article ranks the ACCA Qualification against Chartered Accountancy (CA) programs by difficulty — CA is typically a country-specific credential governed by a national institute, while ACCA is a UK-founded, internationally structured qualification, and the two are built on different exam structures and entry requirements.

ACCA Global's entrance requirements confirm that minimum entry criteria for the ACCA Qualification vary by country, with the same prior qualification treated differently across jurisdictions (ACCA Global). CA qualifications are generally administered by national accounting institutes with their own syllabus and pass requirements, which are not covered in the ACCA Global sources used for this article. Without a shared, authoritative measure of difficulty across both credentials, any specific claim that one is harder than the other should be treated as opinion rather than fact.

What you need

  • Meet ACCA Global's minimum entrance requirements for your country and prior qualification, which vary and determine your registration eligibility and exemption status ([ACCA Global](https://www.accaglobal.com/gb/en/qualifications/glance/acca/minimum-entrance.html))
  • Pass the required ACCA exams — the exact number depends on exemptions granted for prior qualifications
  • Complete the Ethics and Professional Skills module
  • Complete the Practical Experience Requirement: a minimum of 36 months of relevant work experience plus 9 performance objectives ([ACCA Global](https://www.accaglobal.com/gb/en/student/getting-started/acca-qualification-structure.html))
  • Pay the application fee shown during online registration, plus recurring costs that must be confirmed on ACCA Global's official fees page
Cost componentWhat's confirmedWhat variesWhere to check the exact figure
Application/registration feeShown on screen during online registration; payable by debit/credit card or Alipay (ACCA Global)Exact amount not published as a fixed global figure; may vary by countryACCA Global's official registration page, at the point of applying
Annual subscription feeOngoing obligation of ACCA membership/registration is confirmed structurallyExact amount and due date not confirmed in sources reviewedACCA Global's official fees page
Exam fees (Applied Knowledge, Applied Skills, Strategic Professional)ACCA exams are a confirmed core requirement for membership (ACCA Global)Per-exam fee amount, and how it differs by level, not confirmed in sources reviewed; typically also varies by early/standard/late booking windowACCA Global's official exam fees page
Exemption feesExemptions exist and eligibility depends on prior qualification and country (ACCA Global)Exemption fee amount not confirmed; number of exemptions changes total exams neededACCA Global's minimum entrance requirements tool and fees page
Re-registration / reinstatement feeApplies to lapsed students generally in professional bodies of this typeExact amount not confirmed in sources reviewedACCA Global directly
Ethics and Professional Skills moduleConfirmed as a required component of membership (ACCA Global)Fee amount not confirmed in sources reviewedACCA Global's official fees page
Practical Experience RequirementConfirmed: minimum 36 months plus 9 performance objectives, no exam fee attached (ACCA Global)Does not carry a direct ACCA fee, but requires unpaid or paid work time, which is an opportunity costN/A — time-based, not fee-based

Pros

  • ACCA's fee structure is broken into distinct, separately payable components (registration, subscription, per-exam, module, experience), which lets candidates spread cost over time rather than paying a lump sum upfront
  • Exemptions based on prior qualifications can reduce the number of exams — and therefore the exam fee total — for candidates with relevant prior study
  • Employer-sponsored training routes are common in the profession, which can shift some or all of the cost away from the candidate personally

Cons

  • No single official total cost figure exists, which makes upfront budgeting harder than it is for qualifications that publish one all-in number
  • Costs are spread across many separate fee types (application, subscription, per-exam, module, possible exemption or reinstatement fees), increasing the chance of an unbudgeted line item
  • Fee amounts and booking-deadline pricing are reviewed periodically by ACCA Global, so a figure quoted today may not hold by the time you register or sit

Common mistakes

  • Budgeting against a total cost figure quoted on a third-party page instead of confirming current fees on ACCA Global's official site
  • Assuming every candidate pays for the same number of exams, without checking whether prior qualifications grant exemptions
  • Ignoring the annual subscription fee as a recurring cost and budgeting only for one-off registration and exam fees
  • Booking exams close to the deadline without checking whether an earlier booking window would have cost less
  • Assuming 'employer-sponsored ACCA' is a guaranteed or standard route rather than an employer-specific policy

Who this is for

  • Prospective ACCA students who want to understand what categories of fees exist before they register, so they can ask ACCA Global or a tuition provider the right questions
  • Current ACCA students trying to work out whether exemptions apply to them and how that changes their remaining cost
  • Career-changers comparing ACCA's cost structure against other qualifications like CPA or CFA before committing

Who may need more research

  • Readers looking for a single confirmed total cost number in a specific currency — that figure is not published by ACCA Global as one fixed amount and must be checked directly with them
  • Readers wanting a country-specific fee comparison (e.g., Pakistan vs Ghana) — country-level fee amounts are not covered in the sources this article is grounded in
  • Readers wanting exact early/standard/late booking fee amounts — only the general concept that booking window affects price is addressed here, not the figures

Ready to start on the real thing?

The Scholexo view

The absence of a single published 'total ACCA cost' is not an oversight in ACCA Global's communications — it reflects a genuinely variable qualification. Two candidates registering in different countries, with different prior qualifications and different exemption eligibility, can end up paying for a meaningfully different number of exams. Treat any total cost figure you see on a third-party page as an estimate built on assumptions about your exemptions and country, not a quote from ACCA. The single highest-leverage step for controlling your own total cost is establishing your exemption eligibility early, since it directly determines how many of the per-exam fees you'll actually pay.

Frequently asked

Related questions

  • How do ACCA exemptions work for candidates with a prior accounting degree or CA qualification?
  • What does the 2027 ACCA Qualification redesign change about the exam structure?
  • Which employers commonly sponsor ACCA training contracts?
  • How does the Practical Experience Requirement get verified by ACCA Global?
  • What happens if I don't complete ACCA within a certain number of years?

Sources & references

For the exact, current exam structure your fee planning should be built around, see the ACCA exam pattern breakdown.

By Scholexo Team · Last updated 10 August 2026

Related by topic