Applied Knowledge covers Business and Technology (BT), Financial Accounting (FA) and Management Accounting (MA) — the foundational level. Applied Skills builds on this with Corporate and Business Law (LW), Taxation (TX), Financial Reporting (FR), Performance Management (PM), Financial Management (FM) and Audit and Assurance (AA). Strategic Professional is the final level: candidates must pass both Essentials exams — Strategic Business Reporting (SBR) and Strategic Business Leader (SBL) — and choose two from four Options exams. Beyond these three levels, students must also complete the Ethics and Professional Skills module and the Practical Experience Requirement to qualify as a member. ACCA's published structure page does not name the four Strategic Professional Options papers in the supplied extract, so candidates should confirm the current Options list directly with ACCA Global before selecting papers.
ACCA Exam Pattern and Format

The ACCA Qualification, administered by the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA), is organised into three exam levels: Applied Knowledge (3 papers), Applied Skills (6 papers) and Strategic Professional (2 compulsory plus 2 of 4 optional papers). Candidates also complete an Ethics and Professional Skills module and a 36-month Practical Experience Requirement. A redesigned structure takes effect from 2027.
What is this?
ACCA exam pattern refers to how the ACCA Qualification — the professional accounting credential administered by the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA) — organises its exams into levels and papers. Currently this means three levels: Applied Knowledge, Applied Skills and Strategic Professional, sitting alongside a required Ethics and Professional Skills module and a Practical Experience Requirement of 36 months and 9 performance objectives (ACCA Global). A redesigned version of this pattern takes effect from 2027.
Key takeawayThe ACCA Qualification is structured into three exam levels: Applied Knowledge, Applied Skills and Strategic Professional, alongside an Ethics and Professional Skills module and a Practical Experience Requirement.
ACCA Global
Key takeawayThe Applied Knowledge level of the ACCA Qualification comprises three exams: Business and Technology (BT), Financial Accounting (FA) and Management Accounting (MA).
ACCA Global
Key takeawayThe Applied Skills level of the ACCA Qualification comprises six exams: Corporate and Business Law (LW), Taxation (TX), Financial Reporting (FR), Performance Management (PM), Financial Management (FM) and Audit and Assurance (AA).
ACCA Global
Key takeawayThe Strategic Professional level of the ACCA Qualification requires both Essentials exams, Strategic Business Reporting and Strategic Business Leader, plus two of four Options exams.
ACCA Global
Key takeawayTo qualify as an ACCA member, a candidate must complete a minimum of 36 months of relevant work experience and 9 performance objectives.
ACCA Global
Key takeawayFrom 2027, the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA) is introducing a redesigned qualification structured over three levels: Knowledge, Expertise and Strategic Professional.
ACCA Global
Key takeaways
- ACCA has three exam levels: Applied Knowledge, Applied Skills and Strategic Professional, set by ACCA Global.
- Applied Knowledge has 3 papers (BT, FA, MA) and Applied Skills has 6 papers (LW, TX, FR, PM, FM, AA), per ACCA Global.
- Strategic Professional requires both Essentials papers (SBR, SBL) plus 2 of 4 Options papers.
- The commonly cited '13 papers' figure combines the 3+6+4 exam papers across all three levels, though ACCA's own extracts do not state this total figure directly.
- Qualifying as an ACCA member also requires completing the Ethics and Professional Skills module and 36 months of relevant work experience with 9 performance objectives.
- From 2027, ACCA is introducing a redesigned qualification with new Knowledge, Expertise and Strategic Professional levels and a Foundations route.
- Detailed exam format specifics — question types, section-wise marks, exam duration and whether papers are CBE — are not stated in ACCA's published structure pages and should be confirmed on ACCA Global.
ACCA Qualification — The professional accounting qualification administered by the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA), combining exams, an ethics module and practical work experience.
Applied Knowledge — The first level of the ACCA Qualification, covering foundational accounting and business concepts across three exams: BT, FA and MA.
Applied Skills — The second level of the ACCA Qualification, covering six exams that build technical accounting, tax, law and finance skills: LW, TX, FR, PM, FM and AA.
Strategic Professional — The final level of the ACCA Qualification, requiring two compulsory Essentials exams (SBR and SBL) plus two of four Options exams, testing strategic and professional-level judgement.
Ethics and Professional Skills module — A required component of the ACCA Qualification, separate from the exam papers, that all students must complete.
Practical Experience Requirement (PER) — The work-experience component of the ACCA Qualification, requiring a minimum of 36 months of relevant work and 9 completed performance objectives before a candidate can become an ACCA member.
Performance objectives — Specific competency benchmarks a candidate must demonstrate and record during their Practical Experience Requirement; ACCA requires 9 of these.
Future ACCA Qualification — The redesigned version of the ACCA Qualification, taking effect from 2027, structured around new Knowledge, Expertise and Strategic Professional levels plus a Foundations route.
Foundations route — An entry pathway in the future ACCA Qualification (from 2027) for students who do not meet the minimum entry criteria for the main qualification.
What are the levels of the ACCA qualification and what papers fall under each?
The ACCA Qualification currently has three exam levels: Applied Knowledge (3 papers), Applied Skills (6 papers), and Strategic Professional (2 compulsory Essentials papers plus 2 of 4 Options papers), according to [ACCA Global](https://www.accaglobal.com/gb/en/student/getting-started/acca-qualification-structure.html).
How many papers/exams are there in total in ACCA, and is it 13 or 14 papers?
Adding up the papers across all three levels — 3 in Applied Knowledge, 6 in Applied Skills, and 4 in Strategic Professional (2 Essentials + 2 Options) — gives 13 exam papers, though ACCA's own qualification-structure extracts do not state this total figure directly.
The confusion between 13 and 14 papers usually comes from whether the Ethics and Professional Skills module is counted as an 'exam paper' alongside the 13 written exams. ACCA Global's structure page describes the Ethics and Professional Skills module as a separate, required component of the qualification — distinct from the exam papers — rather than as a numbered exam paper. So the paper count itself is 13 (3 + 6 + 2 + 2), while the module and the Practical Experience Requirement are additional, non-exam elements needed to qualify as a member. Because the source extracts reviewed for this article do not explicitly state '13' as a total, candidates should treat this as an arithmetic summary of the level-by-level breakdown rather than a figure quoted verbatim by ACCA.
What is the exam format for each level — CBE, OT questions, or long-form?
ACCA's qualification-structure pages describe the levels and papers but do not specify question formats, marks weighting, or exam duration for individual papers, so this detail should be verified directly with ACCA Global.
Many coaching sites describe Applied Knowledge as objective-test (OT) only and Applied Skills and Strategic Professional as mixing OT and long-form constructed-response questions, delivered by computer-based examination (CBE). However, the ACCA sources reviewed for this article — covering the qualification structure and the future qualification — do not state exam duration, section-wise marks breakdown, or confirm CBE delivery for each paper. Rather than repeat unverified figures, treat this as an open question: check the specific paper's exam format, timing and marking scheme on ACCA's official exam resources before planning your study schedule. This matters practically because format affects preparation strategy — objective-test papers reward speed and breadth, while constructed-response papers reward structured written analysis.
How is the exam scored and weighted, and what is the pass mark?
The ACCA sources reviewed for this article do not state a pass mark, scoring scale, or marks weighting for any paper, so candidates should confirm current pass marks and grading directly with ACCA Global.
Scoring and pass-mark information changes less often than fees or dates but is still confirmed by the examining body rather than assumed. Because ACCA's qualification-structure and future-qualification pages describe what must be passed — not how marks are allocated within a paper — this article does not state a number here. If you have seen a specific pass mark quoted elsewhere, verify it against ACCA's official documentation for the paper in question, since scoring conventions can differ between OT-based and constructed-response papers.
Can I finish ACCA in 2 years?
The ACCA sources reviewed here do not state a minimum completion timeline, and the Practical Experience Requirement alone requires 36 months, so a 2-year completion of full ACCA membership is unlikely under the current structure.
Completing all exam papers quickly is theoretically possible depending on how many sittings a candidate takes and how many papers they pass per sitting, but becoming an ACCA member requires more than passing exams. ACCA Global states that qualifying as a member requires a minimum of 36 months of relevant work experience and 9 performance objectives, alongside completing the exams and the Ethics and Professional Skills module. Since 36 months is 3 years, a candidate cannot become a full ACCA member in 2 years even if all exams and the ethics module are finished earlier — the practical experience clock is the binding constraint. Some candidates run their exams alongside their work experience so both finish close together, but the 3-year experience floor does not shrink regardless of how fast exams are passed.
Which paper is considered the hardest in ACCA?
ACCA's own published sources do not name or rank any paper as the hardest — difficulty is subjective and depends on a candidate's background, so this claim should not be treated as an official fact.
Coaching sites and student forums often nominate Strategic Business Reporting (SBR), Strategic Business Leader (SBL), Advanced Financial Management or Audit and Assurance as the toughest papers, usually based on informal pass-rate discussion. None of ACCA's qualification-structure pages, however, rank papers by difficulty. What can be said with certainty is that the Strategic Professional level tests more integrated, judgement-based skills than Applied Knowledge or Applied Skills, per ACCA Global, which is why many candidates report the transition into Strategic Professional as the harder shift, distinct from any single paper being objectively 'the hardest.'
Is ACCA very difficult overall?
Difficulty depends on a candidate's prior background, study approach and how many papers they attempt per sitting; ACCA's official sources describe the qualification's structure and requirements but do not characterise its overall difficulty.
The qualification progresses deliberately from foundational topics at Applied Knowledge to integrated, strategic-level analysis at Strategic Professional, per ACCA Global. This progression is designed to build complexity gradually rather than test everything at once. Candidates without a finance or accounting background often find the earlier levels more approachable and the later levels more demanding, while those with prior accounting study may find some Applied Knowledge or Applied Skills papers eligible for exemption. Because no supplied source quantifies overall difficulty or pass rates, this article does not state a difficulty rating — check ACCA's official examiner reports and pass-rate publications for level-specific insight.
How will the ACCA exam pattern change under the future ACCA Qualification from 2027?
From 2027, ACCA is replacing the current three-level structure with a redesigned qualification built around Knowledge, Expertise and Strategic Professional levels, plus a new Foundations route, according to [ACCA Global](https://www.accaglobal.com/gb/en/campaigns/accountancy-redefined/future-acca-qualification.html).
The future qualification introduces three Knowledge-level exams and five Expertise-level exams, alongside new employability-focused modules and a numbering system that shows a recommended (but not mandatory) order for taking exams. It also adds new intermediate awards: the Diploma in Accounting and Business (after the three Foundations exams plus the Enterprise and Entrepreneurship module), the Higher Diploma in Accounting and Business (after the three Knowledge exams plus the Responsible Business Management module), and the Advanced Diploma in Accounting and Business (after the five Expertise exams plus the Digital Tech and Innovation module). The final ACCA Qualification award still requires the three Strategic Professional exams, an Ethical, Sustainable Leadership module, and the Practical Experience Requirement. Notably, up to six months of the PER may in future be met through certain Optional Employability Modules, though ACCA states this will not take immediate effect from September 2027. Candidates currently mid-qualification should check ACCA's transition guidance to understand how existing papers map onto the new structure.
What you need
- Pass the 3 Applied Knowledge papers: BT, FA, MA
- Pass the 6 Applied Skills papers: LW, TX, FR, PM, FM, AA
- Pass both Strategic Professional Essentials papers: SBR, SBL
- Pass 2 of the 4 Strategic Professional Options papers
- Complete the Ethics and Professional Skills module
- Complete a minimum of 36 months of relevant work experience
- Complete 9 performance objectives as part of the Practical Experience Requirement
Examples
Mapping the current ACCA structure paper by paper
A candidate named Priya wants to see exactly which papers make up each ACCA level before she registers. She starts with Applied Knowledge: BT, FA, MA — three papers testing foundational business and accounting concepts. She then moves to Applied Skills: LW, TX, FR, PM, FM, AA — six papers building technical depth in law, tax, reporting, performance, finance and audit. Finally, at Strategic Professional, she must pass SBR and SBL (both compulsory), then choose 2 papers from the 4 Options papers available at that level.
Outcome: Priya's total exam paper count is 3 + 6 + 2 + 2 = 13 papers. Alongside these, she still needs to complete the Ethics and Professional Skills module and log 36 months of work experience with 9 performance objectives before she can apply for ACCA membership.
| Level | Number of papers | Papers included | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Applied Knowledge | 3 | Business and Technology (BT), Financial Accounting (FA), Management Accounting (MA) | Current structure |
| Applied Skills | 6 | Corporate and Business Law (LW), Taxation (TX), Financial Reporting (FR), Performance Management (PM), Financial Management (FM), Audit and Assurance (AA) | Current structure |
| Strategic Professional | 4 (2 Essentials + 2 of 4 Options) | Essentials: Strategic Business Reporting (SBR), Strategic Business Leader (SBL); plus 2 chosen Options papers | Current structure |
| Non-exam requirement | N/A | Ethics and Professional Skills module | Current structure — required for all candidates |
| Non-exam requirement | N/A | Practical Experience Requirement: 36 months, 9 performance objectives | Current structure — required for membership |
| Knowledge (future) | 3 | Not fully detailed in ACCA's published extract | Effective from 2027 |
| Expertise (future) | 5 | Not fully detailed in ACCA's published extract | Effective from 2027 |
| Strategic Professional (future) | 3 | Three Strategic Professional exams plus Ethical, Sustainable Leadership module | Effective from 2027 |
| Foundations route (future) | 3 mandatory exams | Names not fully specified in ACCA's published extract | Effective from 2027 — for candidates not meeting minimum entry criteria |
Common mistakes
- Assuming the '13 papers' figure includes the Ethics and Professional Skills module as a numbered exam, when ACCA treats it as a separate requirement.
- Believing exam papers and practical work experience can both be compressed to finish ACCA membership in under 3 years, when the 36-month Practical Experience Requirement is a fixed floor.
- Treating informally cited 'hardest paper' rankings from coaching sites as official ACCA statements, when ACCA's own sources do not rank paper difficulty.
- Confusing the current ACCA Qualification structure with the redesigned future ACCA Qualification, which uses different level names (Knowledge, Expertise, Strategic Professional) from 2027.
Who this is for
- Prospective ACCA candidates planning which papers to register for and in what order
- Current ACCA students who want to see the full level-by-level paper breakdown in one place
- Candidates trying to reconcile conflicting '13 vs 14 papers' claims seen across coaching websites
- Students researching how the 2027 ACCA redesign will affect the qualification structure
Who may need more research
- Readers looking for exact exam duration, marks weighting or question-type breakdowns per paper — this data is not published in ACCA's structure pages and must be checked with ACCA Global directly
- Readers seeking current exam fees or exact exam dates, which are not covered by the sources used for this article
Ready to start on the real thing?
The Scholexo view
The most common source of confusion in the '13 vs 14 papers' question is not a discrepancy in ACCA's structure but a difference in what people are counting. ACCA's own qualification pages treat the Ethics and Professional Skills module and the Practical Experience Requirement as parallel tracks to the 13 exam papers, not as a 14th paper. Candidates planning their study schedule should treat these as three separate clocks running simultaneously — exam papers, the ethics module, and 36 months of work experience — rather than assuming completing exams faster shortens the overall qualification timeline.
Frequently asked
Sources & references
For a level-by-level breakdown of what each ACCA paper actually tests, see the ACCA syllabus and exam pattern page.
By Scholexo Team · Last updated 10 August 2026
