Your Cart

Your cart is currently empty.

ACCA

How Long Does ACCA Take to Complete?

Timeline showing overlapping ACCA exam study and work experience paths converging toward qualification

The Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA) does not publish a single fixed duration for the ACCA Qualification. Officially, completion requires passing all required exams, finishing the Ethics and Professional Skills module, and completing a minimum 36 months of relevant work experience with 9 performance objectives — the total time depends on how many exams a candidate needs, exemptions, and study pace.

What is this?

The ACCA Qualification is a professional accounting qualification administered by the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA). It consists of three components: a set of exams, an Ethics and Professional Skills module, and a Practical Experience Requirement of a minimum 36 months' relevant work experience with 9 performance objectives.

Key takeaway

The ACCA Qualification, administered by the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA), consists of exams, an Ethics and Professional Skills module, and a Practical Experience Requirement.

ACCA Global
Key takeaway

To qualify as an ACCA member, a candidate must complete a minimum of 36 months' relevant work experience and 9 performance objectives.

ACCA Global
Key takeaway

The ACCA Qualification is being redesigned from 2027 into four levels: Foundations, Knowledge, Expertise, and Strategic Professional.

ACCA Global
Key takeaway

Under the redesigned ACCA Qualification, students may in future be able to meet up to six months of the practical experience requirement through Optional Employability Modules, though this will not apply immediately from September 2027.

ACCA Global
Key takeaway

Minimum entrance requirements for the ACCA Qualification vary significantly by country and region, according to ACCA's own country-by-country entry requirements.

ACCA Global

Key takeaways

  • ACCA Global does not state a single official completion time in years for the ACCA Qualification; total time depends on exams remaining, exemptions and pace.
  • Every ACCA member must complete a minimum of 36 months' relevant work experience and 9 performance objectives, regardless of how quickly exams are passed.
  • Work experience (PER) can run alongside exam study — it does not have to happen only after exams are finished.
  • Students with a relevant degree or postgraduate qualification may be eligible for exam exemptions, which can shorten the exam stage of the journey.
  • From 2027, the ACCA Qualification is being redesigned into Foundations, Knowledge, Expertise and Strategic Professional levels, which will change how the qualification is structured.
  • Minimum entrance requirements, and the documentation needed to register, vary by country and region.
Minimum work experience required36 months (3 years), with 9 performance objectives
Qualification componentsExams + Ethics and Professional Skills module + Practical Experience Requirement
New structure takes effect2027 (Foundations, Knowledge, Expertise, Strategic Professional)
Overall completion timeNot fixed by ACCA Global — depends on exams remaining, exemptions and pace
Entrance requirementsVary by country/region — check ACCA's country-specific table

ACCA — The Association of Chartered Certified Accountants, the global professional body that administers the ACCA Qualification.

Practical Experience Requirement (PER) — The work experience component of the ACCA Qualification, requiring a minimum of 36 months' relevant work and 9 performance objectives before a candidate can become a full ACCA member.

Performance objectives — Specific workplace competencies an ACCA student must demonstrate and have signed off during their practical experience, as part of qualifying for membership.

Ethics and Professional Skills module — A required component of the ACCA Qualification, separate from the written exams, that all students must complete.

Exemptions — Waivers from sitting certain ACCA exams, which ACCA Global states may be available to students with a relevant degree or postgraduate qualification.

Can I finish ACCA in 2 years?

ACCA Global does not publish a minimum or fastest completion time, so there is no official confirmation that 2 years is achievable — and separately, full ACCA membership always requires a minimum 36 months (3 years) of relevant work experience.

Two years is sometimes quoted online as a fast-track figure, but it is not a duration stated by ACCA Global itself. What is confirmed officially is the 36-month work experience requirement for membership. If work experience is started early and run alongside exam study, it is possible that exams could theoretically be finished inside two years by a well-exempted or fast-paced candidate — but the 36-month practical experience clock still has to complete separately before someone can call themselves an ACCA member. Anyone quoting a firm 2-year total completion figure is going beyond what ACCA Global states. The honest answer is: it depends heavily on exemptions, how many papers are attempted per sitting, and when the 36 months of experience begins relative to the exams.

How long will it take to complete ACCA?

ACCA Global does not state a fixed total duration for completing the ACCA Qualification — the sources confirm the components required (exams, the Ethics and Professional Skills module, and 36 months of work experience) but not an overall time-to-completion figure.

The total time to become an ACCA member depends on variables that differ from person to person: how many exams a candidate needs after exemptions, how many papers they sit per exam session, how quickly they pass, and when they start the 36-month Practical Experience Requirement relative to their studies. ACCA Global confirms the components of the qualification — exams, ethics training, and work experience — but does not publish an average or typical number of years for finishing all of them. Because the 36-month PER can run in parallel with exam study rather than only after exams finish, candidates who start relevant work early and study steadily can complete both requirements closer together than someone who studies first and only starts work experience afterward.

How many years does it take to get ACCA?

There is no single official figure — ACCA Global's own materials confirm only that qualifying for membership requires a minimum 36 months' relevant work experience alongside passing all required exams and the ethics module, not a fixed number of years for the whole journey.

The 36-month (three-year) practical experience requirement is the one duration figure ACCA Global states explicitly, and it is a floor, not a total. It runs alongside — not necessarily after — the exam stage. Because exam numbers vary by starting qualification (exemptions can remove some exams entirely) and because study pace varies by candidate, ACCA Global does not commit to a total number of years for the qualification as a whole. Anyone comparing figures online should treat the work experience minimum as fixed and confirmed, and treat any total-years figure as an estimate rather than an ACCA-published rule. For a country-specific check of what a candidate's starting qualifications mean for their exam load, the ACCA exam pattern page is a useful next step.

Is ACCA better than CPA?

This is not something ACCA Global's sources address, and no comparison between ACCA and the US CPA credential was found in the verified sources for this article.

ACCA (Association of Chartered Certified Accountants) and the US CPA (Certified Public Accountant) credential are governed by different bodies, with different eligibility rules, exam structures and jurisdictions of recognition. Making a fair comparison requires figures — exam counts, durations, cost, career recognition by region — that were not present in the ACCA Global sources used for this article, so no comparison is made here to avoid stating anything unverified. Readers weighing ACCA against CPA, CMA or the EA credential should look at each qualification's own governing body requirements side by side rather than relying on a general claim that one is 'better'. The CPA vs CMA vs ACCA vs EA comparison covers this in more depth.

Is ACCA equal to Masters?

This is not addressed in ACCA Global's qualification structure or entrance requirement pages used for this article, so no equivalence claim can be made here.

Whether the ACCA Qualification is treated as equivalent to a Master's degree is typically a decision made by individual universities, employers or national education authorities — not something stated as a blanket rule by ACCA Global in the sources reviewed. What ACCA Global does confirm is that a relevant degree or postgraduate qualification can make a student eligible for exam exemptions, which shortens the exam stage of the ACCA journey rather than establishing an equivalence in the other direction. Anyone needing a formal academic equivalence statement — for immigration, further study or employer purposes — should check directly with the relevant university, employer or national qualifications authority rather than relying on informal claims.

How long does ACCA usually take?

ACCA Global does not publish a 'usual' or average completion time, so any specific typical-duration figure seen elsewhere online should be treated as an estimate, not an official statement.

Search results for this question often cite ranges like two to five years, but these figures come from various third-party sources, not from ACCA Global's own qualification pages. What can be stated with confidence is that the total time is shaped by the same fixed component every candidate shares — the 36-month work experience requirement — plus the variable component of how many exams remain after exemptions and how quickly they are passed. A candidate starting with no exemptions and studying part-time alongside full-time work will typically take longer than a candidate with several exemptions studying full-time. Because ACCA Global does not commit to a specific 'usual' figure, candidates should build their own estimate from their own starting point rather than relying on a single quoted number.

How fast can you get ACCA?

ACCA Global does not state a fastest possible completion time, and no minimum-time figure for finishing all exams appears in its published qualification structure or overview pages.

The fastest realistic route would combine maximum eligible exemptions, an aggressive exam-sitting pace, and starting the 36-month Practical Experience Requirement as early as possible so it runs concurrently with exam study rather than after it. Even in this best case, the 36-month work experience minimum cannot be shortened by exam speed — it is a fixed floor set by ACCA Global. Candidates considering fee and time planning should also look at the exam cost calculator and salary estimator and build a realistic session-by-session plan using a study planner, since exam sitting frequency and number of papers per session were not specified in the sources used here and should be confirmed directly with ACCA Global.

Is ACCA easy or hard?

Difficulty is not something ACCA Global's qualification structure or entrance requirement pages address in terms of pass rates or difficulty ratings, so no claim about ease or difficulty is made here.

No pass rate, difficulty ranking or comparative difficulty statement appeared in the ACCA Global sources reviewed for this article. What can be said structurally is that the ACCA Qualification requires passing all required exams, completing a separate Ethics and Professional Skills module, and fulfilling 9 performance objectives during 36 months of relevant work experience — meaning the qualification tests both technical exam performance and sustained real-world competence, not exams alone. Candidates weighing difficulty should look at official exam pass rate data directly from ACCA Global rather than general claims, and review the ACCA exam pattern to understand what each exam actually tests.

How do exemptions (from prior degrees, CA, CPA, etc.) shorten the duration?

ACCA Global states that students may be eligible for exemptions from some exams if they hold additional qualifications such as a relevant degree or postgraduate study — exemptions reduce the number of exams a candidate must sit, which shortens the exam stage of the journey.

ACCA Global's minimum entrance requirements page confirms that a relevant degree or postgraduate qualification can qualify a student for exemptions from certain exams. This does not eliminate the 36-month work experience requirement, which every candidate must still complete regardless of exemptions. The sources reviewed do not specify exactly how many exams particular qualifications (such as a CA or CPA credential) exempt a candidate from, or a country-by-country exemption table, so candidates holding a prior professional qualification should check their specific exemption entitlement directly with ACCA Global rather than assuming a general rule.

How many exams are there and how are they structured across levels?

The current exam count under the existing structure was not stated in the sources used for this article; what is confirmed is that the qualification is being redesigned from 2027 into Foundations, Knowledge, Expertise and Strategic Professional levels.

ACCA Global's redesign announcement confirms the future structure will use four named levels — Foundations, Knowledge, Expertise, and Strategic Professional — with first exams under the new structure beginning in 2027. The exact number of exams within the current, pre-2027 structure was not present in the sources reviewed for this article, so it is not stated here. Candidates planning a study timeline now should check ACCA Global directly for the current exam list and confirm whether they will study under the existing structure or the redesigned one, since the transition itself may affect timeline planning depending on when a candidate starts.

What is the required 36-month work experience (PER) and can it overlap with exams?

The Practical Experience Requirement (PER) is a minimum 36 months of relevant work experience with 9 performance objectives that every ACCA member must complete, and it can run alongside exam study rather than only after exams finish.

ACCA Global's qualification structure page confirms the 36-month minimum and the 9 performance objectives as fixed requirements for membership. Because PER is experience-based rather than exam-based, a candidate already working in a relevant role can start accumulating months toward the 36-month total while still sitting exams, rather than waiting until all exams are passed to begin. This overlap is one reason total completion time varies so much between candidates: someone who starts relevant work early alongside their studies can finish both requirements closer together than someone who completes all exams first and only then starts qualifying work experience.

Example: A finance graduate who takes a relevant accounting role immediately after finishing their degree can begin logging PER months from day one of that job, while also sitting ACCA exams in parallel exam sessions — rather than treating work experience as something to start only after all exams are cleared.

What you need

  • Pass all required ACCA exams (exact current exam count not stated in the sources reviewed — confirm with ACCA Global)
  • Complete the Ethics and Professional Skills module
  • Complete a minimum of 36 months' relevant work experience
  • Achieve 9 performance objectives during that work experience
  • Meet minimum entrance requirements, which vary by country/region

Common mistakes

  • Assuming a quoted 'average' completion time (like 2-3 years) is an official ACCA Global figure rather than a third-party estimate
  • Planning to start the 36-month work experience requirement only after finishing all exams, which extends total completion time unnecessarily
  • Not checking exemption eligibility before assuming the full exam load applies
  • Not checking country-specific minimum entrance requirements before assuming eligibility to register
  • Overlooking the Ethics and Professional Skills module as a separate requirement from the written exams

Who this is for

  • Prospective ACCA students trying to plan a realistic study and work-experience timeline
  • Commerce or finance graduates evaluating whether their degree qualifies them for exam exemptions
  • CA or CPA holders considering ACCA and wanting to understand how exemptions might affect their exam load
  • Current ACCA students trying to plan how to overlap their Practical Experience Requirement with ongoing exams

Who may need more research

  • Readers looking for a guaranteed fixed number of years to complete ACCA — no such official figure exists
  • Readers wanting a direct ACCA vs CPA or ACCA vs Master's equivalence ruling, which is not addressed by the sources used here

Ready to start on the real thing?

The Scholexo view

The wide range of duration figures circulating online for ACCA (commonly two to five years) is not a contradiction in the qualification — it reflects the fact that ACCA Global itself does not fix a total timeline. The only fixed clock is the 36-month work experience requirement. Everything else — exam count after exemptions, papers per sitting, and whether work experience overlaps with study — is candidate-specific. The most useful planning question is not 'how long does ACCA take', but 'starting from my own qualifications and pace, when could my 36-month PER clock and my remaining exams both finish' — because those are the two things that actually determine a completion date.

Frequently asked

Related questions

  • What happens if I don't complete ACCA exams within a set time limit?
  • How does the 2027 ACCA redesign affect students already partway through the current qualification?
  • Which prior qualifications (degree, CA, CPA) qualify for the most ACCA exam exemptions?
  • Can ACCA work experience be completed before starting the exams?
  • What are the minimum entrance requirements for ACCA in my country?

Sources & references

Use the ACCA exam pattern page to map out which exams apply to your starting qualification before planning your timeline.

By Scholexo Team · Last updated 10 August 2026

Related by topic