Total duration for a CPA candidate is a function of several state-dependent steps rather than one fixed clock. A candidate must first meet the education requirements set by their chosen state board, which can include a specific number of semester hours and particular coursework; these requirements differ by state (NASBA). They then register for and pass the Uniform CPA Examination, followed by any state-mandated work experience before a license is issued. Because none of these steps carry a universal timeline in the source material, and because education gap evaluation, exam scheduling availability, and experience verification all vary by individual circumstance and state, no single duration figure can be stated as fact for Indian candidates. Candidates researching this should look at the CPA exam pattern and CPA exam format to understand what preparing for each section actually involves, since exam readiness is usually the largest variable in overall timeline.
CPA Course Fees and Duration in India

There is no single, fixed CPA course fee or duration figure for Indian candidates because the US CPA credential is governed by individual state boards of accountancy, not a national body, and costs and timelines vary by state, evaluation agency, and review provider. NASBA and the AICPA publish licensure and exam requirements but do not publish an India-specific fee or duration figure. Always confirm current numbers with your chosen state board.
What is this?
The US CPA (Certified Public Accountant) credential is a professional accounting license issued by individual US state boards of accountancy, not by a single national body. A candidate qualifies by meeting a state board's education requirements, passing the Uniform CPA Examination, and completing the experience conditions set by that state board (NASBA).
Key takeawayEach U.S. state and territory has its own board of accountancy that sets rules for education, exam eligibility, work experience, ethics, and residency for CPA licensure.
ThisWayToCPA (AICPA)
Key takeawayEducation requirements to sit for the Uniform CPA Examination differ by state, including total semester hours and specific coursework requirements, according to NASBA.
NASBA
Key takeawayWhere a candidate takes the CPA Exam is not dependent on where they intend to practice, and CPA Exam scores can be transferred to any state for licensure purposes, per NASBA.
NASBA
Key takeawayNASBA's Accountancy Licensing Library charges $10 for one day of unlimited searches, a research-tool fee separate from CPA exam or licensing fees.
NASBA
Key takeawayA CPA, or Certified Public Accountant, is licensed by a state board of accountancy after completing education, passing the Uniform CPA Examination, and completing accounting experience, per NASBA.
NASBA
Key takeaways
- The US CPA credential is issued by individual state boards of accountancy, not by NASBA or the AICPA directly, so fees and duration depend on which state board a candidate applies through.
- The official sources reviewed for this article (AICPA's ThisWayToCPA and NASBA) do not publish India-specific CPA course fees, INR cost breakdowns, or a fixed duration figure.
- Education requirements to sit the CPA Exam, including total semester hours, vary by state; some states require 150 total semester hours while others require less, per NASBA.
- NASBA's Accountancy Licensing Library (ALL) charges $10 for one day of unlimited searches — this is a research-tool fee, not a CPA exam or licensing fee.
- A candidate can sit the Uniform CPA Examination in a location different from where they intend to practice, and scores can be transferred to any state for licensure, according to NASBA.
- Work experience requirements for licensure also vary by state — many require at least one year of public accounting experience, while some accept alternative experience types.
CPA (Certified Public Accountant) — A US professional accounting credential. A CPA is licensed by a state board of accountancy after completing required education, passing the Uniform CPA Examination, and completing accounting experience (NASBA).
NASBA — The National Association of State Boards of Accountancy, an organization that supports state boards of accountancy and provides licensing services for several jurisdictions, but does not itself grant CPA licenses.
State board of accountancy — The individual body in each US state or territory that sets and enforces education, exam, experience, ethics, and residency requirements for CPA licensure in that jurisdiction.
Credential evaluation — A process by which a candidate's foreign academic transcripts are assessed against US education requirements, typically required for international candidates including those from India, before they can sit the CPA Exam.
Semester hours — A unit used by US state boards to measure the volume of college-level education completed; the total required to sit the CPA Exam varies by state, with some requiring 150 total semester hours.
How long does it take to complete the CPA course from India?
The official AICPA and NASBA sources reviewed for this article do not publish a fixed duration figure for candidates completing the CPA process from India, because timelines depend on how quickly a candidate meets state-specific education requirements, schedules and passes all four Uniform CPA Examination sections, and completes any required work experience.
What is the total cost of the US CPA course in India (in INR and USD)?
The AICPA and NASBA sources used for this article do not publish a total INR or USD cost figure for pursuing the CPA credential from India; cost is instead the sum of several separately administered fees — education evaluation, exam application, exam sitting, review materials, and licensing — each set by a different body.
There is no single 'CPA course fee' the way there is for many single-body certifications, because the US CPA process runs through multiple independent parties: a credential evaluation agency, the individual state board of accountancy, NASBA (for exam application processing in most jurisdictions), Prometric (the exam delivery vendor), and separately, any review course provider a candidate chooses to use. None of the sources reviewed publish a consolidated INR or USD total specific to Indian candidates. Because state boards set their own exam and application fees, and these fees are subject to change, a reliable total can only be built by checking the current fee schedule of the specific state board the candidate intends to apply through, and confirming currency conversion separately. Candidates should treat any total figure quoted elsewhere online as unverified unless it links back to the relevant state board's own fee schedule.
What are the individual cost components of the CPA course?
The individually recognised cost components are education/credential evaluation, exam application and examination fees, review course or study material costs, and licensing fees — but the amount for each is set by different bodies and is not stated in the AICPA/NASBA sources reviewed here.
Based on how the CPA process is structured, the cost components a candidate should budget for typically include: a credential evaluation fee (paid to an evaluation agency to assess foreign transcripts against state education requirements), an exam application fee and per-section examination fee (set by the state board or its service provider), review course or study material costs (a candidate's own choice of provider), and a final licensing fee paid to the state board once experience and other requirements are met. Separately, NASBA charges $10 for one day of unlimited searches on its Accountancy Licensing Library (ALL) research tool — this is a tool for researching licensing rules, not an exam or licensing fee itself (NASBA). None of the sources reviewed state actual dollar or rupee amounts for evaluation, application, exam, or licensing fees, so candidates must obtain current figures directly from their state board and chosen evaluation agency.
What are the eligibility requirements (education, credit hours) for Indian students?
Education requirements to sit the CPA Exam, including total semester/credit hours and specific coursework, are set individually by each US state board of accountancy and differ by state — there is no single credit-hour rule that applies to all Indian candidates.
NASBA states that education requirements to sit for the CPA Exam differ by state, including total semester hours and specific coursework requirements, and notes that some states require 150 total semester hours to qualify while others may require less (NASBA). For Indian candidates, whose academic qualifications (such as B.Com, M.Com, or CA credentials) were earned outside the US, this typically means a credential evaluation step to translate their education into US semester-hour equivalents, though the sources reviewed here do not detail that evaluation process. Because eligibility criteria — including age, residency and other licensure conditions — are set by the individual state board a candidate applies through, and can change over time, candidates should confirm current requirements directly with their chosen state board before planning their education path (ThisWayToCPA/AICPA). Readers evaluating whether their existing degree qualifies them should also see Can You Take the CPA Exam Without an Accounting Degree? and, for CA holders specifically, Can Indian CAs Get CPA Licensure Without a US Degree?
Are there additional costs like international testing fees since exams are taken outside India or at limited centers?
The sources reviewed for this article do not specify international testing fee amounts; they confirm only that a candidate's exam-sitting location is independent of their intended licensure state, meaning a candidate does not need to test in the same state where they plan to become licensed.
NASBA states that where a candidate takes the CPA Exam is not dependent on where they intend to practice, and that CPA Exam scores can be transferred to any state for licensure purposes (NASBA). This is relevant for Indian candidates because it confirms flexibility in choosing a testing location and a licensing state independently — but it does not confirm or quantify any additional fee that may apply for testing at international centers rather than within the US. Any such surcharge, if it applies, would be set by the exam delivery vendor or the relevant state board, not by NASBA's general licensure guidance, and should be confirmed directly with the state board and exam scheduling service before budgeting.
How do fees vary by state board in the US?
Fees vary because each US state and territory operates its own board of accountancy with independent authority over education, exam eligibility, experience, ethics, and residency requirements for CPA licensure — there is no single national fee schedule.
The AICPA's ThisWayToCPA resource confirms that each state and territory's board of accountancy independently sets its own rules for licensure (AICPA/ThisWayToCPA), and NASBA separately confirms that education requirements — including total semester hours — differ by state (NASBA). Since fee schedules are set at the same state-board level as these other requirements, a candidate applying through one state board cannot assume the fee structure of another state applies to them. NASBA does provide direct licensing services for a specific set of jurisdictions — Colorado, the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands (CNMI), Georgia, New Hampshire, Puerto Rico, Montana, and the Virgin Islands (NASBA) — but for all other states, the relevant state board itself governs and publishes fees. Candidates comparing states should check NASBA vs State Boards to understand which body handles which part of the process.
What is the cost comparison between CPA and other qualifications like CA, ACCA, or CMA?
The sources reviewed for this article do not publish comparative fee figures for CPA against CA, ACCA, or CMA, so no verified cost comparison can be stated here; what can be stated is that these are governed by different bodies entirely, which is itself the reason a direct cost comparison requires checking each body separately.
CPA licensure is governed by individual US state boards of accountancy, with the Uniform CPA Examination administered under standards set through NASBA and the AICPA. Chartered Accountancy (CA) in India is governed by the Institute of Chartered Accountants of India, ACCA is administered by the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants, and the CMA (US) credential is administered by the Institute of Management Accountants — none of these bodies' fee schedules were part of the sources reviewed for this article. Because each credential has its own governing body, exam structure, and fee schedule that changes independently of the others, a reliable cost comparison requires pulling current fee data directly from each governing body rather than relying on aggregated third-party figures. For a structural comparison of what each exam covers and how they differ, see CPA vs CMA vs ACCA vs EA comparison.
Are there hidden or recurring costs, like retake fees, license renewal, or CPE costs?
The sources reviewed confirm that CPA licensure requirements, including work experience and other conditions, are set and can change at the state board level, which implies recurring compliance costs such as continuing education, but none of the sources state specific retake, renewal, or CPE fee amounts.
NASBA confirms that requirements for a CPA license — including work experience — vary from state to state, with many states requiring at least one year of public accounting experience while others accept alternative experience types (NASBA). The AICPA's ThisWayToCPA resource separately notes that CPA licensure requirements can change over time, and advises candidates to confirm details with their state board before applying (AICPA/ThisWayToCPA). This confirms that ongoing compliance — which for many licensed professionals includes continuing professional education (CPE) — is state-governed and subject to change, but the specific CPE hour requirements, renewal fees, and exam section retake fees are not stated in the sources reviewed. Candidates who fail a section and need to reattempt it should also review What Happens If You Fail a CPA Exam Section? Retake Rules Explained, and for ongoing licensing obligations, see CPA CPE Requirements.
What you need
- Meet the education requirement (including total semester/credit hours) set by the specific state board of accountancy the candidate applies through — this varies by state
- Have foreign academic credentials evaluated against the chosen state's education standard, typically necessary for candidates educated outside the US
- Pass all four sections of the Uniform CPA Examination
- Complete the work experience requirement set by the chosen state board, which may require public accounting experience or accept alternative experience types depending on the state
- Meet any additional state-specific criteria such as age, residency, or ethics requirements, which vary by jurisdiction
| Aspect | US CPA | CA (India) | ACCA | CMA (US) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Governing body | Individual US state boards of accountancy, with the Uniform CPA Examination administered under AICPA/NASBA standards | Institute of Chartered Accountants of India | Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA) | Institute of Management Accountants (IMA) |
| Fee schedule published in sources reviewed here | Not published — varies by state board and evaluation agency | Not covered in sources reviewed | Not covered in sources reviewed | Not covered in sources reviewed |
| Eligibility basis | Set individually by each state board; education, experience, and other criteria vary by state | Set by ICAI | Set by ACCA globally | Set by IMA |
| Where you can take the exam vs. where you get licensed | Exam location is independent of licensure state; scores transfer to any state (NASBA) | Governed by ICAI's own examination centers and process | Governed by ACCA's own examination centers and process | Governed by IMA/Prometric process |
Pros
- A candidate is not restricted to testing in the state where they intend to become licensed — CPA Exam scores can be transferred to any state for licensure purposes (NASBA)
- Because each state board sets its own education and experience rules, candidates with different academic backgrounds may find at least one state's requirements they can meet
- NASBA's Accountancy Licensing Library gives candidates a low-cost ($10 for one day) way to research licensing rules across jurisdictions before committing to a state
Cons
- The absence of a single national fee schedule means candidates must research costs separately across evaluation agencies, state boards, and exam vendors rather than finding one published total
- Education and experience requirements differing by state can make it harder for an Indian candidate to identify which state board is the right fit without dedicated research
- Requirements can change over time at the state board level, so figures and rules found even in reliable secondary sources may be out of date by the time a candidate applies
Common mistakes
- Assuming there is one universal CPA fee or duration figure that applies to all Indian candidates, when both depend on the specific state board chosen
- Budgeting only for exam fees while overlooking credential evaluation costs, review course costs, and eventual licensing fees
- Choosing a state board based on outdated information found online rather than confirming current requirements directly with that state board
- Not accounting for the work experience requirement, which varies by state and can extend the overall timeline well beyond exam completion
Who this is for
- Indian B.Com/M.Com graduates or CA aspirants evaluating whether their existing education can meet a US state board's semester-hour requirement
- Working professionals in India considering CPA as a way to build US-relevant accounting credentials without relocating immediately
- Candidates who want exam-location flexibility and are comparing which state board's requirements best fit their academic background
Who may need more research
- Candidates expecting a single fixed total cost or timeline before doing any state-board-specific research — that figure does not exist as a universal number
- Candidates unwilling to go through a credential evaluation process to translate their Indian degree into US semester-hour equivalents
- Candidates who need a licensed credential in India specifically for domestic Indian statutory audit work, where a CA credential from ICAI is the relevant qualification rather than a US CPA license
Ready to start on the real thing?
The Scholexo view
The most consequential decision an Indian candidate makes is not which review course to buy — it is which state board to apply through, because that single choice determines the education evaluation standard, the experience requirement, and ultimately the fee schedule that applies to them. Two candidates with identical B.Com transcripts can face different semester-hour shortfalls, different experience obligations, and different total costs purely because they picked different state boards. Any cost or duration figure quoted without naming the specific state board it applies to should be treated as incomplete, not wrong — it is simply missing the one variable that determines everything else.
Frequently asked
Sources & references
For a section-by-section breakdown of what you'll actually need to prepare for, see the CPA exam pattern and CPA syllabus and exam pattern.
By Scholexo Team · Last updated 10 August 2026
