Your Cart

Your cart is currently empty.

CPA

Can You Take the CPA Exam Without an Accounting Degree?

Multiple pathways converging, representing different degree routes to CPA Exam eligibility

Yes. No source states that a CPA candidate must hold a degree specifically titled 'accounting.' State boards of accountancy set requirements around total semester hours (often 120 or 150) and specific accounting/business coursework, not the name on the degree, so a non-accounting graduate who meets a state's credit and coursework rules can qualify.

What is this?

The Uniform CPA Examination is the professional exam that individuals seeking to qualify as Certified Public Accountants (CPAs) in the United States are required to pass, according to NASBA. It is developed and scored at the national level, while eligibility to sit for it — including education, age, and residency requirements — is set individually by each US state's board of accountancy.

Key takeaway

Each U.S. state and territory has its own board of accountancy that sets rules for education, exam eligibility, work experience, ethics, and residency for CPA licensure.

AICPA — This Way to CPA
Key takeaway

The education requirements to sit for the CPA Exam differ by state, according to the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA).

NASBA
Key takeaway

Some states require 150 total semester hours to qualify for the CPA Exam, while some may require less, according to NASBA.

NASBA
Key takeaway

Where a candidate takes the CPA Exam is not dependent on where they intend to practice, and CPA Exam scores can be transferred to any state for the purpose of getting a CPA license, according to NASBA.

NASBA
Key takeaway

NASBA's Accountancy Licensing Library Research Tool lets candidates search which states enforce requirements matching their profile, for $10 for unlimited searches in one day.

NASBA

Key takeaways

  • No official source requires the CPA Exam candidate's degree to be labeled 'accounting' — requirements are built around total credit hours and specific coursework, set individually by each state board of accountancy.
  • Education requirements, including total semester hours and required accounting/business credits, vary by state and are not uniform across the US.
  • Some states require 150 total semester hours to qualify for the CPA Exam, while others may require less, according to NASBA.
  • Candidates are not required to sit the exam in the state where they intend to practice; scores can be transferred to any state for licensure.
  • NASBA's Accountancy Licensing Library Research Tool lets candidates check which states match their education profile, for $10 per day of unlimited searches.
  • Whether a specific state accepts a non-accounting degree, and how many extra accounting/business credits it requires, is not detailed in NASBA or AICPA's general guidance — candidates must confirm this directly with the specific state board.
Common CPA Exam credit-hour benchmark150 semester hours in some states; others require less (varies by state board)
NASBA Research Tool cost$10 for unlimited searches in one day
Governing bodiesIndividual state boards of accountancy, coordinated with NASBA and AICPA
Does the exam require an accounting-titled degree?Not stated by NASBA or AICPA — requirements are based on credit hours and coursework, not degree title

State board of accountancy — The licensing authority in each US state or territory that sets its own rules for CPA Exam eligibility, education, work experience, ethics and residency.

150-hour rule — A requirement used by some states under which a candidate needs 150 total semester hours of college education — beyond a standard 120-hour bachelor's degree — to qualify for CPA licensure. Not every state uses this exact threshold.

Credential evaluation — A process by which an international degree, such as a three-year bachelor's degree, is assessed and converted into US semester-hour equivalents so a state board can determine CPA Exam eligibility.

CPA Mobility — A set of privileges, offered by most states, that allow a licensed CPA to provide services across state lines without obtaining a separate license in each state.

Can someone without an accounting degree become a CPA in the US?

Yes, based on what NASBA and AICPA publish, eligibility is built around total semester hours and specific coursework, not the title of the degree — so a candidate with a non-accounting degree can potentially qualify if they meet a given state's credit and course requirements.

NASBA and AICPA's official guidance describes CPA Exam education requirements in terms of total semester hours and specific accounting or business coursework, set individually by each state board of accountancy. Neither source states that the underlying bachelor's degree must be labeled 'accounting.' This means the real question for a non-accounting graduate is not 'do I have the right degree title' but 'do I have enough total credit hours, and enough of them in accounting and business subjects, to satisfy a specific state's rule.' Because these thresholds vary by state, the honest answer is that it depends entirely on which state board a candidate applies through, and candidates should check CPA eligibility requirements directly with that board before assuming they qualify or are excluded.

What are the minimum education requirements (120/150 credit hours) for CPA eligibility?

Education requirements to sit the CPA Exam differ by state: some states require 150 total semester hours, while others may require fewer, according to NASBA.

NASBA states plainly that 'the education requirements to sit for the CPA Exam differ by state' and that 'some states require 150 total semester hours to qualify for the CPA Exam, while some may require less.' A standard US bachelor's degree is typically built around 120 semester hours, which is why the 150-hour figure — used by many but not all states — usually means finding an additional 30 hours somewhere beyond a four-year degree. Because the exact threshold is state-specific, a candidate cannot assume 120 hours is enough, or that 150 is universal, without checking the particular state board they plan to apply through. NASBA's guidance does not specify which states use 150 hours versus a lower figure in the material reviewed here, so this must be confirmed directly with the relevant board.

How many accounting and business credit hours are typically required by state boards?

NASBA's guidance confirms that states impose 'more narrow educational requirements specific to each state, such as semester hours in specific accounting or business courses,' but does not specify the exact number of hours required by any individual state.

Beyond the headline total-semester-hour figure (120 or 150, depending on the state), most state boards layer on subject-specific requirements: a minimum number of semester hours in accounting courses, and often a separate minimum in general business courses. NASBA's published guidance confirms these narrower rules exist but does not itemize the specific hour counts by state in the material available here. This is precisely the kind of detail that changes by jurisdiction and, per NASBA, over time — so a candidate should not rely on a number quoted informally online. The reliable way to confirm the exact accounting and business credit-hour minimums for a specific state is to check that state board directly, or use NASBA's own research tool, described below.

Does a non-accounting bachelor's degree plus additional credits satisfy the 150-hour rule?

Based on the general structure NASBA describes, meeting the total semester-hour requirement and the state's specific accounting/business coursework requirement is what qualifies a candidate — regardless of what the original bachelor's degree was titled — though the exact combination accepted is set by each state board and not detailed in NASBA's general guidance.

NASBA describes the 150-hour rule (where it applies) as a total-hours threshold with subject-specific coursework requirements layered on top, not a rule about degree titles. In principle, this means a candidate holding a non-accounting bachelor's degree — say, in economics, business administration, or an unrelated field — could satisfy a state's total-hour and coursework requirements by adding credits afterward, through additional coursework. NASBA's material does not confirm this outcome for any named state, nor does it list which combinations of degree-plus-extra-credits are accepted where. This is a case where the general framework (total hours + specific coursework, not degree title) is confirmed, but the specific state-by-state application is not, and must be verified with the relevant board before a candidate commits time or money to bridge coursework.

Which US states or jurisdictions have the most flexible education requirements for non-accounting graduates?

This is not answered by NASBA or AICPA's general guidance — the retrieved material confirms that requirements vary by state but does not name which states are more flexible toward non-accounting degree holders.

It would be inaccurate to name specific 'easy' or 'flexible' states here, because the sources reviewed do not identify any state-by-state comparison of how they treat non-accounting degree holders. What NASBA does confirm is that education requirements, total semester hours, and specific coursework rules all vary by state, and that candidates are free to apply through whichever state's requirements match their own profile, since the exam itself is not tied to where a candidate later intends to practice. Rather than searching for informal 'easiest state' lists, the reliable approach is to use NASBA's own Accountancy Licensing Library Research Tool, which is built for exactly this comparison, and to cross-check any answer against the actual state board's published rules before applying.

How can someone fill credit gaps (bridge courses, online courses, community college classes, master's programs)?

The specific coursework options a candidate can use to fill credit gaps are not detailed in NASBA's or AICPA's general guidance, so a candidate must confirm accepted course types directly with the state board they plan to apply through.

NASBA's material confirms that education requirements involve both a total semester-hour threshold and specific accounting/business coursework, but it does not specify whether community college classes, online courses, standalone bridge programs, or a master's degree are accepted equally by every state to fill a shortfall. In practice, candidates commonly consider options such as additional undergraduate coursework, post-baccalaureate certificate programs, or a master's in accounting or a related field — but which of these a given state board accepts, and under what conditions, is a state-specific rule not covered in the sources reviewed here. Before enrolling in any bridge coursework, a candidate should confirm with their target state board exactly which course types and providers count toward its credit-hour and subject-area requirements.

How do international degrees (3-year bachelor's degrees) get evaluated for US CPA eligibility?

The sources reviewed here do not detail the credential evaluation process for international degrees; state boards generally require some form of foreign credential evaluation to convert an international degree into US semester-hour equivalents, but the specific process and accepted evaluators are not described in NASBA's or AICPA's general guidance retrieved for this article.

Many international candidates, including those with a three-year bachelor's degree common in India and other countries, ask how that degree is assessed against a US state's semester-hour requirement. This is a real and important step in the process, but it is not detailed in the AICPA and NASBA material reviewed for this article — those sources confirm that education requirements vary by state and that states set their own rules, without describing the credential evaluation mechanics for foreign degrees specifically. Candidates from India considering this pathway should also review how it interacts with other credentials; for instance, Indian CAs weighing CPA licensure without a US degree face a related but distinct set of questions. The reliable next step is to contact the specific state board being applied to and ask which credential evaluation service it accepts and requires.

How long does it take and how much does it cost to become eligible without an accounting degree?

Specific timelines and costs for closing a credit gap are not stated in NASBA's or AICPA's general guidance; the only cost figure confirmed in the sources reviewed is $10 for unlimited searches in one day on NASBA's own Accountancy Licensing Library Research Tool.

How long it takes to become eligible, and what it costs, depends on how large the candidate's credit gap is relative to their target state's requirement, and what kind of coursework that state accepts to close it — none of which is standardized or stated as a single figure by NASBA or AICPA. What is confirmed is that NASBA offers a Research Tool, priced at $10 for unlimited searches in a single day, specifically so candidates can check which state's requirements match their existing education. Beyond that tool's cost, figures for tuition, exam fees, or application fees are not part of the verified material here, and a candidate should treat any specific dollar figure or timeline found elsewhere with caution until they've confirmed it against their target state board's own published rules and NASBA's CPA Exam resources.

What you need

  • Meet the total semester-hour threshold set by the specific state board applied to — this may be 150 hours or a lower figure, depending on the state, per NASBA.
  • Meet that state's specific accounting and/or business coursework requirements, which NASBA confirms exist but does not itemize by state.
  • Meet any additional state-specific eligibility rules, such as age or residency, which NASBA confirms vary by state.
  • Confirm current requirements directly with the chosen state board of accountancy, since NASBA notes that CPA licensure requirements can change over time.

Common mistakes

  • Assuming every state requires 150 semester hours, when NASBA confirms some states require fewer.
  • Assuming a degree must be titled 'accounting' to qualify, rather than checking the actual credit-hour and coursework rule of a specific state.
  • Choosing bridge or online courses before confirming with the target state board that those specific courses are accepted toward its requirement.
  • Assuming the state where the exam is taken must be the state where the candidate will practice, when NASBA confirms exam location is not tied to practice location.
  • Relying on informal 'easiest state' lists rather than checking NASBA's Accountancy Licensing Library or the state board directly.

Who this is for

  • Non-accounting degree holders (finance, business, commerce, economics, or unrelated fields) evaluating whether they can pursue the CPA credential.
  • International candidates, including those from India and Pakistan, holding a three-year bachelor's degree and researching US CPA eligibility.
  • Candidates trying to work out how many additional credit hours or coursework they need before applying to a specific state board.

Who may need more research

  • Candidates who already hold a US accounting degree meeting their target state's requirements, who can move directly to reviewing exam format and registration.
  • Candidates seeking a definitive single national rule — CPA eligibility has no single national education standard; it is set state by state.

Ready to start on the real thing?

The Scholexo view

The most common misreading of CPA eligibility is treating 'accounting degree' and 'accounting credit hours' as the same requirement. NASBA's own framing is consistently about total semester hours and specific coursework, not the name printed on a transcript. That distinction matters most for non-accounting graduates deciding whether to pursue the CPA at all: the real gap to measure is not 'my degree isn't in accounting' but 'how many accounting and business credit hours does my specific target state require, and how many do I actually have.' Because that number is set state by state and can change, the only durable strategy is to identify a target state board early, get its current requirement in writing from its own published rules, and plan coursework against that — rather than relying on a general rule of thumb that may not hold for the state actually being applied through.

Frequently asked

Related questions

  • What is the difference between CPA Exam eligibility and CPA licensure requirements?
  • How does CPA Mobility work for candidates who study and sit the exam in one state but want to practice in another?
  • What is a foreign credential evaluation service and how is one selected?
  • How does a master's degree in accounting affect CPA eligibility compared to bridge courses?

Sources & references

For a structural overview of how the CPA Exam itself is organized once you're eligible, see the CPA exam format guide.

By Scholexo Team · Last updated 10 August 2026

Related by topic