Your Cart

Your cart is currently empty.

CMA

Who Is Eligible for CMA USA?

Pathway of steps representing CMA USA eligibility requirements and certification stages

You're eligible for CMA USA if you hold a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university (or a related professional certification), become an active member of the Institute of Management Accountants (IMA), complete two continuous years of relevant management accounting or financial management experience, and pass both Part 1 and Part 2 of the CMA exam within three years of entering the program.

What is this?

CMA stands for Certified Management Accountant, a professional accounting certification focused on financial planning, analysis, and strategic financial management. It is owned by the Institute of Management Accountants (IMA), with the exam developed, administered, and graded by IMA's certification affiliate, the Institute of Certified Management Accountants (ICMA). This is distinct from other credentials using the same initials, including Certified Medical Assistant in healthcare — this article covers only the accounting and finance certification.

Key takeaway

CMA USA certification requires active membership in the Institute of Management Accountants (IMA), a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university (or a related professional certification), two continuous years of relevant experience, and passing both parts of the CMA exam.

IMA CMA Certification FAQ
Key takeaway

The two continuous years of professional experience required for CMA certification may be completed prior to the exam or within seven years after passing it.

IMA CMA Certification FAQ
Key takeaway

Candidates must complete the CMA program within three years of entry; if both exam parts are not passed within that window, any passed part expires and the CMA entrance fee must be repaid.

IMA CMA Certification FAQ
Key takeaway

The CMA exam is computer-based and administered exclusively at Prometric Test Centers worldwide, across three testing windows each year: January/February, May/June, and September/October.

IMA CMA Certification FAQ
Key takeaway

Starting September/October 2026, case-based questions become the standard CMA exam format in the Americas, Europe, Middle East, Asia Pacific, and Africa, while China, Japan, and Taiwan (China) continue offering essay questions.

IMA: The CMA Exam Format is Evolving

Key takeaways

  • CMA USA eligibility requires active IMA membership, a bachelor's degree (or qualifying professional certification), two years of relevant experience, and passing both exam parts.
  • The two years of professional experience can be completed before the exam or within seven years after passing it — there is no requirement to have it finished upfront.
  • The entire CMA program, from entry to passing both parts, must be completed within three years, or a passed part expires and the entrance fee must be repaid.
  • The CMA exam is administered only in person at Prometric Test Centers worldwide; remote testing is not currently available.
  • The sources reviewed do not specify an age limit, a minimum GPA, or which specific professional certifications substitute for a bachelor's degree — verify these directly with IMA.
  • Starting September/October 2026, most regions move to case-based exam questions as standard, while China, Japan, and Taiwan (China) continue offering essay format.
Governing bodyInstitute of Management Accountants (IMA); exam developed and administered by ICMA
Education requirementBachelor's degree from accredited institution, or a related professional certification
Experience requirementTwo continuous years in management accounting or financial management
Experience timingBefore the exam, or within seven years after passing it
Exam structureTwo parts — Part 1 and Part 2 — both must be passed
Program completion windowThree years from date of entry into the CMA program
Testing methodComputer-based, in person only, at Prometric Test Centers worldwide
Testing windowsJanuary/February, May/June, September/October
Membership requirementActive IMA membership required
Global reachRecognized in over 150 countries, per IMA

CMA (Certified Management Accountant) — A professional accounting certification focused on management accounting and financial management, administered by the Institute of Management Accountants (IMA) through its certification affiliate, ICMA.

IMA (Institute of Management Accountants) — The professional association that owns the CMA certification program and requires active membership as a condition of earning and holding the credential.

ICMA (Institute of Certified Management Accountants) — The certification affiliate of IMA responsible for developing, administering, and grading the CMA exam, and for setting program policies, according to IMA.

Case-based questions — A newer CMA exam question format that IMA is introducing as a replacement for essay questions, becoming the standard format in most regions from the September/October 2026 window.

CMA entrance fee — A fee candidates pay to enter the CMA program; the specific amount is not stated in IMA's published FAQ extracts reviewed for this article and should be confirmed directly with IMA.

What is the eligibility for CMA USA?

CMA USA eligibility has four components: active IMA membership, a bachelor's degree (or qualifying professional certification), two continuous years of relevant experience, and passing both parts of the CMA exam.

According to the Institute of Management Accountants (IMA), a candidate must be an active IMA member, hold a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university or a related professional certification, complete two continuous years of professional experience in management accounting or financial management, and pass both Part 1 and Part 2 of the CMA exam. These four requirements work together rather than in a fixed sequence — a candidate can register for and pass the exam before finishing the experience requirement, but certification is only granted once all four conditions are met. IMA's own materials note that submitting education transcripts and work experience verification can happen before or after passing the exam, but is a required final step before certification is awarded.

What are the minimum requirements for CMA?

The minimum requirements are active IMA membership, a bachelor's degree or equivalent professional certification, two years of relevant work experience, and passing both exam parts within three years of entering the program.

These are the same four conditions IMA lists for certification, but the word 'minimum' matters here: none of them can be skipped or substituted outside what IMA specifies. There is no path to CMA certification that omits the experience requirement or the membership requirement, regardless of how strong a candidate's exam scores are. The three-year completion window is also a minimum-structure constraint — it counts from the date of entry into the program, not from the date of the first exam attempt, so candidates who delay registering after enrolling lose time from that window.

What are the requirements to get a CMA?

To get the CMA credential, a candidate must join IMA, enroll in the CMA program, pay the CMA entrance fee, register for and pass both exam parts, and verify education and work experience.

IMA describes the general steps as: join IMA as a member, enroll in the CMA program, register for the CMA exams (Part 1 and Part 2, in any order), and verify that education and work experience requirements are met. The enrollment step itself — purchasing the CMA entrance fee and IMA membership — takes about 10 minutes to complete online, according to IMA. Candidates are not required to complete Part 1 before Part 2, or vice versa; they can even sit both parts on the same day, though IMA notes many candidates choose to separate their test dates.

How to be eligible for CMA?

Becoming eligible means satisfying all four IMA conditions — membership, education, experience, and the exam — and there is flexibility in the order you complete them.

A practical way to think about eligibility is as a checklist rather than a ladder: a candidate does not need a completed degree, finished work experience, and IMA membership all in hand before starting. IMA membership and program enrollment come first because they're required to register for the exam. The bachelor's degree (or qualifying professional certification) and the two years of experience can be documented at any point up to final certification, and the experience specifically can be completed up to seven years after passing the exam. The one firm deadline is the three-year program completion window — both exam parts must be passed inside that period, or a passed part expires and the entrance fee has to be repaid.

What are the exact education requirements for CMA USA?

IMA requires a bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university, or alternatively a related professional certification, though the extracts reviewed do not name which specific certifications qualify.

This is one area where the publicly available IMA FAQ leaves a genuine gap: it confirms that a related professional certification can substitute for a bachelor's degree, but does not list which certifications are accepted or whether the list differs by country. It also does not specify which accreditation bodies IMA recognizes for a degree to count, which matters most for candidates with degrees from institutions outside the US. Candidates without a completed bachelor's degree — for example, someone still finishing their final year — should not assume they can substitute partial coursework; the sources reviewed here say nothing about a process for candidates who lack a bachelor's degree entirely. Anyone in this position should confirm directly with IMA before enrolling in the program.

What work experience is required for CMA, and does it need to be before or after the exam?

IMA requires two continuous years of professional experience in management accounting or financial management, and this can be completed before the exam or within seven years after passing it.

This timing flexibility is one of the more useful, and under-covered, parts of CMA eligibility. A candidate does not need two years of experience already completed to sit the exam or even to start the program — they can pass both parts first and accumulate the required experience afterward, as long as it's finished within seven years of the exam pass date. The word 'continuous' matters: IMA's language implies an unbroken two-year stretch in a qualifying role, though the sources reviewed do not define exactly what counts as 'management accounting or financial management' work beyond that phrase, so candidates in adjacent roles (such as general finance, audit, or treasury) should verify with IMA whether their specific role qualifies before assuming it does.

Example: A candidate who graduates with a bachelor's degree in commerce and immediately enrolls in the CMA program can register for and pass both exam parts in the same year, then spend the following two years working in a corporate finance role before submitting experience verification for final certification.

Is IMA membership mandatory for CMA, and what does it cost?

Yes, active IMA membership is mandatory to earn and hold CMA certification, but the specific membership fee is not stated in the IMA materials reviewed for this article.

IMA lists active membership as one of the core certification requirements, alongside the CMA entrance fee, which is purchased during enrollment. Neither the membership fee nor the entrance fee amount appears in the sources checked here, and both are the kind of figure that changes over time and can differ by candidate category (such as student or professional membership) or region. Candidates should check IMA's official enrollment pages directly for current pricing before budgeting for the program, rather than relying on third-party estimates.

Are there age limits or other restrictions for CMA?

The IMA materials reviewed for this article do not state an age limit or any age-related restriction for CMA eligibility.

Age eligibility is a common search question, but it is not addressed in IMA's published FAQ extracts covering certification requirements. The four stated requirements — membership, education, experience, and the exam — contain no age criterion. Candidates who are researching this specifically, for example students planning to attempt the CMA exam while still completing a degree, should check directly with IMA rather than assume a particular age threshold applies, since this detail is a documented gap rather than a confirmed rule.

Is a CMA harder than a CPA?

The sources reviewed for this article do not provide a comparative difficulty rating between the CMA and the Certified Public Accountant (CPA) credential.

The CMA exam consists of two parts — Part 1 covering Financial Planning, Performance, and Analytics, and Part 2 covering Strategic Financial Management — according to IMA. The CPA Exam has a different structure and is governed by a different body (US state boards of accountancy, via the AICPA and NASBA), which was not part of the source material reviewed here. Because difficulty depends on a candidate's background, study approach, and which exam content maps better to their existing knowledge, no single verified answer applies to every candidate. Readers weighing both options may find the CPA vs CMA vs ACCA vs EA comparison useful for a side-by-side look at structure and scope.

Is a CMA higher than a CNA?

No — a CMA (Certified Management Accountant) and a CNA (Certified Nursing Assistant) are unrelated credentials in different professional fields and cannot be ranked against each other.

This comparison likely surfaces from search overlap rather than genuine relevance: a CNA is a healthcare credential for nursing assistants, governed by state health and nursing authorities, while the CMA is an accounting and financial management credential governed by the Institute of Management Accountants (IMA). There is no shared scope, licensing body, or career track between them, so 'higher' has no meaningful answer. Note also that 'CMA' is itself an abbreviation used for the unrelated medical role of Certified Medical Assistant in some contexts — readers researching the accounting credential should confirm they're reading about CMA USA (management accounting) specifically, not a healthcare certification of the same initials.

Who gets paid more, CCMA or CMA?

The sources reviewed for this article do not cover CCMA (Certified Clinical Medical Assistant) or provide salary comparison data between it and the CMA credential.

This question compares two credentials in entirely different fields — CCMA is a healthcare-sector certification, while the CMA discussed throughout this article is a management accounting credential from IMA. No verified compensation data comparing the two was available in the sources checked for this article. Readers interested in what a CMA (management accountant) role pays can consult the CMA salary guide for figures specific to that credential.

What you need

  • Active membership in the Institute of Management Accountants (IMA)
  • A bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university, or a related professional certification
  • Two continuous years of professional experience in management accounting or financial management, completed before or within seven years of passing the exam
  • Passing both Part 1 (Financial Planning, Performance, and Analytics) and Part 2 (Strategic Financial Management) of the CMA exam
  • Completion of the full CMA program within three years of the date of entry
  • Submission of education transcripts and work experience verification, at any point before final certification

Step by step

  1. Join IMA as a member

    Active IMA membership is required before or as part of enrolling in the CMA program.

  2. Enroll in the CMA program

    Candidates purchase the CMA entrance fee and IMA membership; IMA states this step takes about 10 minutes.

  3. Register for CMA Part 1 and Part 2

    Parts can be registered for and taken in any order, or both can be scheduled together; testing happens in person at Prometric Test Centers during the January/February, May/June, or September/October windows.

  4. Pass both exam parts within three years of entry

    If both parts are not passed within three years of program entry, any passed part expires and the entrance fee must be repaid.

  5. Verify education and work experience

    Submit education transcripts and confirm two continuous years of relevant experience; this can be done before or after the exam but is required before certification is granted.

RequirementWhat IMA RequiresTiming Flexibility
IMA membershipActive membership requiredRequired before/at program enrollment
EducationBachelor's degree (accredited) or related professional certificationCan be verified before or after passing the exam
Professional experienceTwo continuous years in management accounting or financial managementBefore the exam, or within 7 years after passing it
ExamPass both Part 1 and Part 2Any order; both can even be taken same day
Program completionMust finish within 3 years of program entryFixed deadline — no stated exceptions in sources reviewed

Common mistakes

  • Assuming the two years of work experience must be finished before the exam can be taken, when IMA allows it to be completed up to seven years after passing.
  • Enrolling in the program and delaying exam registration, which uses up time within the fixed three-year completion window.
  • Assuming a specific age limit or GPA requirement exists, when the sources reviewed do not state one.
  • Confusing CMA USA (management accounting, IMA) with unrelated credentials using the same initials, such as Certified Medical Assistant or Certified Nursing Assistant.

Who this is for

  • Accounting or finance students who want to combine a bachelor's degree with a globally recognized management accounting credential
  • Working finance professionals seeking a certification focused on strategic and management accounting rather than audit or tax
  • Career changers with a related professional certification who may qualify without a traditional bachelor's degree

Who may need more research

  • Candidates without a bachelor's degree or a qualifying related professional certification, who should confirm their specific pathway with IMA before enrolling
  • Anyone seeking a healthcare-sector CMA (Certified Medical Assistant) or CNA credential — this is an unrelated certification

Ready to start on the real thing?

The Scholexo view

The most overlooked part of CMA USA eligibility is the sequencing flexibility: IMA does not require a candidate to have their degree, experience, and membership fully locked in before sitting the exam. In practice, this means a final-year student or someone newly transitioning into finance can often begin the exam process well before every eligibility box is checked, then close out the experience or documentation requirement afterward. The genuine constraint isn't any single requirement — it's the three-year program clock, which starts on entry, not on first attempt. Candidates who enroll and then delay registering for the exam are quietly eating into that window.

Frequently asked

Related questions

  • What happens if I don't complete both CMA exam parts within three years?
  • Can international degrees be evaluated for CMA eligibility, and by whom?
  • What is the difference between CMA Part 1 and Part 2 content?
  • How does the shift to case-based questions affect exam preparation?
  • What roles count toward the two years of management accounting experience?

Sources & references

For a full breakdown of exam structure, content, and the 2026 format change, see the CMA exam format guide.

By Scholexo Team · Last updated 10 August 2026

Related by topic