Your Cart

Your cart is currently empty.

EA

How Long Does It Take to Become an Enrolled Agent?

Timeline representing the stages and time commitment of becoming an Enrolled Agent

There is no IRS-published overall timeframe for becoming an Enrolled Agent, but the structural limits are fixed: each Special Enrollment Examination (SEE) part runs 3.5 hours (4 hours seat time), and candidates must pass all three parts within three years of passing the first one, per the [IRS](https://www.irs.gov/tax-professionals/enrolled-agents/become-an-enrolled-agent). The realistic total time depends on how quickly a candidate studies, schedules, and passes each part.

What is this?

The Enrolled Agent (EA) credential is a tax practitioner qualification issued by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS), authorising the holder to represent taxpayers before the IRS. To earn it, a candidate obtains a Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN), passes all three parts of the Special Enrollment Examination (SEE), applies for enrollment, and passes an IRS suitability check.

Key takeaway

The IRS gives Enrolled Agent candidates three years from the date they pass their first Special Enrollment Examination (SEE) part to pass the remaining two.

IRS – Become an Enrolled Agent
Key takeaway

Each part of the IRS Special Enrollment Examination (SEE) is 3.5 hours long, with 4 hours of actual seat time to allow for a tutorial, survey, and two scheduled 10-minute breaks.

IRS – Enrolled Agents: Frequently Asked Questions
Key takeaway

The Special Enrollment Examination (SEE) consists of three parts — Individuals, Businesses, and Representation, Practices and Procedures — and candidates may take them in any order.

IRS – Enrolled Agents: Frequently Asked Questions
Key takeaway

Enrolled Agents must renew their enrollment every three years and complete a minimum of 72 hours of continuing education per cycle, including at least 2 hours of ethics per year.

IRS – Enrolled Agents: Frequently Asked Questions
Key takeaway

Becoming an Enrolled Agent requires obtaining a Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN), passing all three SEE parts, applying for enrollment, and passing an IRS suitability check.

IRS – Enrolled Agents: Frequently Asked Questions

Key takeaways

  • The IRS does not publish an official average timeframe for completing the entire EA process from study to credential — only the exam and renewal deadlines are fixed.
  • Each SEE part is 3.5 hours of actual testing, with 4 hours total seat time including a tutorial, survey, and two 10-minute breaks (IRS).
  • Candidates have three years from the date they pass their first SEE part to pass all three, per the IRS.
  • The three SEE parts (Individuals, Businesses, and Representation, Practices and Procedures) can be taken in any order.
  • Becoming an Enrolled Agent (EA) also requires obtaining a Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN), applying for enrollment, and passing an IRS suitability check.
  • Enrolled Agent status must be renewed every three years, with 72 hours of continuing education required per cycle.
  • Direct comparison of EA versus CPA time or difficulty is not addressed by IRS sources; treat any such comparison as a third-party estimate, not an official figure.
SEE parts3 (Individuals, Businesses, Representation Practices and Procedures)
Time per part (actual testing)3.5 hours
Total seat time per part4 hours (includes tutorial, survey, two 10-minute breaks)
Questions per part100 (85 scored, 15 experimental)
Window to pass all three parts3 years from date first part is passed
Fee per part$317 (non-refundable, non-transferable)
Renewal cycleEvery 3 years
Continuing education required72 hours per 3-year cycle (min. 16 hrs/year, 2 on ethics)
Exam administrator (from March 1, 2026)PSI Services (replacing Prometric, LLC)

Enrolled Agent (EA) — A tax practitioner credential granted by the IRS, authorising the holder to represent taxpayers before the IRS.

Special Enrollment Examination (SEE) — The three-part IRS examination candidates must pass to qualify for Enrolled Agent status.

PTIN — Preparer Tax Identification Number — an identifier the IRS requires paid tax preparers, including EA candidates, to obtain.

Suitability check — An IRS review of an EA applicant's tax compliance and background conducted before enrollment is granted.

Continuing Education (CE) — Ongoing coursework Enrolled Agents must complete to maintain their credential — 72 hours per 3-year renewal cycle, per the IRS.

How long does it take to get EA?

The IRS does not publish an official overall timeframe — the only fixed windows are the three-year deadline to pass all three SEE parts and the three-year renewal cycle afterward.

What the IRS does state clearly is the structure of the process: obtain a PTIN, pass all three parts of the Special Enrollment Examination (SEE), apply for enrollment, and pass a suitability check (IRS). How long that sequence takes in practice depends entirely on how fast an individual studies, schedules exam appointments, and receives results — none of which the IRS puts a number on. Some third-party sites estimate 6 to 18 months of study, but that figure does not come from the IRS and should be treated as an estimate, not an official timeline. The only binding deadline is the three-year window to pass all three parts once the first is passed. For a full breakdown of what each exam part covers, see the EA syllabus and exam pattern.

What is the duration of EA?

"Duration" for EA can mean two different things: the length of each exam sitting (3.5 hours of testing, 4 hours seat time) or the total time to become an Enrolled Agent, which the IRS does not specify.

This is the single most confused point across search results for this topic. Exam duration is fixed and documented: each of the three SEE parts is 3.5 hours long, with 4 total hours of seat time to accommodate a tutorial, a survey, and two scheduled 10-minute breaks (IRS). Credentialing duration — the time from starting to study to holding the EA designation — is not something the IRS states as a number of weeks or months, because it depends on variables the IRS does not control: how many parts a candidate takes at once, how much study time each requires, and how quickly PTIN and suitability processing complete. Anyone researching EA should keep these two meanings separate rather than treating a 3.5-hour exam figure as an answer to "how long does the whole process take."

How long is the EA exam?

Each part of the SEE is 3.5 hours of actual testing time, with 4 hours of total seat time once the tutorial, survey, and two 10-minute breaks are included.

The Special Enrollment Examination (SEE) has three separate parts — Individuals, Businesses, and Representation, Practices and Procedures — and each is scheduled and sat as its own appointment (IRS). A candidate does not sit all three in one day; each part is booked separately, meaning the total testing-day time across the credential is 3 x 3.5 hours of actual exam time, plus the seat-time overhead per session. Each part contains 100 questions, of which 85 are scored and 15 are unscored experimental questions used by the IRS to evaluate future exam content. Parts can be taken in any order, so a candidate can start with whichever part matches their existing knowledge. Details of what each part covers are in the EA course page and EA exam format guide.

How long do candidates have to pass all three parts?

Candidates have three years from the date they pass their first SEE part to pass the remaining two parts, per the IRS.

This three-year window is the credential's single most consequential deadline, and it is a rolling clock that starts the moment the first part is passed — not from when a candidate first registers or begins studying (IRS). If a candidate does not pass all three parts within that period, passing scores on earlier parts can expire, requiring that part to be retaken. This is the detail most study plans underestimate: spacing parts too far apart, or failing and needing multiple retakes, eats directly into this three-year budget. The IRS FAQ page does not specify a minimum waiting period before retaking a failed part, so candidates should confirm current retake rules directly with the IRS or the exam administrator before scheduling. A study planner can help map out part-by-part scheduling against this window.

Example: A candidate who passes the Individuals part in January starts a three-year clock; if Businesses and Representation, Practices and Procedures are not both passed by the same date three years later, the Individuals score may no longer count.

Is the EA exam hard to pass?

The IRS does not publish a difficulty rating or pass rate for the SEE, so "hard" is subjective and depends on a candidate's existing tax knowledge and preparation.

What can be said with certainty, from the IRS's own description of the exam, is its scale: three parts, each with 100 questions (85 scored) covering Individuals, Businesses, and Representation, Practices and Procedures, sat within a fixed three-year window (IRS). That structure — three separate content-heavy exams rather than one — is what candidates most often underestimate, not any single part's questions. Someone with an existing tax preparation background may find the material more familiar than someone starting from scratch, but the IRS does not publish figures distinguishing these groups. Candidates weighing this should look at the EA syllabus and exam pattern to judge the content against their own background, rather than relying on a general difficulty label.

Is EA harder than CPA?

The IRS sources used here do not compare the EA credential to the CPA credential, so no official answer to this exists — any comparison found elsewhere is a third-party estimate.

The Enrolled Agent (EA) credential is issued by the IRS and focuses specifically on taxation and representing taxpayers before the IRS. The Certified Public Accountant (CPA) credential is a separate accounting qualification, licensed by individual US state boards, covering a broader scope including audit, financial reporting, and business concepts. Because these are different credentials with different governing bodies, different exam structures, and different purposes, a direct "harder" comparison is not something either governing body publishes. What can be compared factually is scope and structure — EA has three exam parts focused on tax, while CPA has a broader multi-section structure covering multiple accounting disciplines. For a side-by-side look at scope, cost, and eligibility, see the CPA vs CMA vs ACCA vs EA comparison.

How long does it take overall to become an Enrolled Agent, from start to finish?

There is no single official timeframe; the realistic end-to-end path includes obtaining a PTIN, studying for and passing three SEE parts within three years, applying for enrollment, and passing an IRS suitability check.

The fastest theoretical route is limited only by how quickly a candidate can prepare for and schedule three exam sittings, since the IRS process itself — PTIN issuance, application, and suitability check — is not described with specific processing times in the sources checked here. The realistic path is longer because most candidates study for each part separately, take gaps between parts for revision, and may need retakes. None of these study-time or processing-time figures are published by the IRS, so any total-months estimate a candidate encounters is not an official IRS figure. What is fixed is the outer boundary: all three parts must be passed within three years of passing the first (IRS), after which the newly enrolled agent enters a three-year renewal cycle requiring 72 hours of continuing education. Use the exam cost calculator and salary estimator to plan the exam-fee side of this timeline, and check EA FAQs for process specifics.

How long should someone study for each part of the EA exam?

The IRS does not publish a recommended study duration per part or overall; any hours-based estimate found online is a third-party figure, not an IRS one.

This is a genuine gap in what the governing body publishes. The IRS states exam structure — 100 questions per part, three parts, 3.5 hours of testing time each — but says nothing about how many hours of preparation those parts require (IRS). In practice, the right amount of study time depends heavily on a candidate's starting point: someone already working in tax preparation is starting from a materially different baseline than someone new to the field. Rather than relying on a generic hours figure, candidates are better served by working through the actual content each part covers — see the EA syllabus and exam pattern — and using a study planner to build a schedule around their own pace and the three-year exam window.

What you need

  • Obtain a Preparer Tax Identification Number (PTIN) ([IRS](https://www.irs.gov/tax-professionals/enrolled-agents/enrolled-agents-frequently-asked-questions))
  • Pass all three parts of the Special Enrollment Examination (SEE) — Individuals, Businesses, and Representation, Practices and Procedures — within three years of passing the first part
  • Apply for enrollment with the IRS
  • Pass an IRS suitability check
  • Certain former IRS employees may be exempt from the exam requirement based on past technical experience ([IRS](https://www.irs.gov/tax-professionals/enrolled-agents/enrolled-agents-frequently-asked-questions))
MetricEA (per IRS)
Number of exam parts3 (Individuals, Businesses, Representation, Practices and Procedures)
Testing time per part3.5 hours
Total seat time per part4 hours (tutorial, survey, two 10-minute breaks)
Questions per part100 (85 scored, 15 experimental)
Window to pass all parts3 years from date first part is passed
Fee per part$317 (non-refundable, non-transferable)
Renewal cycle after credentialingEvery 3 years, with 72 hours of continuing education

Common mistakes

  • Assuming the 3.5-hour exam duration is the same thing as the total time to become an EA — they answer different questions.
  • Leaving too much gap between passing the first and second SEE parts, which eats into the three-year completion window.
  • Treating third-party study-hour estimates (such as 6-18 months) as official IRS figures rather than independent estimates.
  • Not confirming current retake-wait rules with the IRS or exam administrator before scheduling a repeat attempt.

Who this is for

  • Prospective tax professionals who want a federal credential focused specifically on taxation and IRS representation
  • Candidates comparing EA against other accounting or tax credentials before committing time to a specific path
  • People early in their research, trying to separate 'how long is the exam' from 'how long does the whole process take'

Who may need more research

  • Someone who needs a broad-scope accounting credential covering audit and financial reporting rather than tax specifically
  • Anyone unwilling to commit to continuing education every three years to maintain the credential after passing

Ready to start on the real thing?

The Scholexo view

The biggest timing risk in the EA process is not the exam itself but the gap between parts. Because the three-year clock starts the moment a candidate passes their first SEE part, spacing parts too far apart — or needing a retake — can consume most of that window before all three are cleared. Candidates who treat the exam as three separate, sequential projects, and who schedule the second and third parts soon after the first, give themselves the most buffer against that deadline. Anyone budgeting a total timeline should also add unpublished process time — PTIN issuance and the suitability check — since the IRS does not commit to a processing period for either.

Frequently asked

Related questions

  • What happens if you fail a part of the EA exam — can you retake it immediately?
  • Does the EA exam schedule differ for candidates testing outside the United States?
  • What continuing education topics count toward the 72-hour renewal requirement?
  • How does the PTIN application process work and what does it require?
  • What is included in the IRS suitability check for EA applicants?

Sources & references

Explore the full EA syllabus and exam pattern to see exactly what each SEE part covers before building your study timeline.

By Scholexo Team · Last updated 10 August 2026

Related by topic