This is a case where the governing body that administers licensure — NASBA — is explicit that it does not develop or score CPA Exam content (NASBA). Question counts, section timing, and the split between question types are decided and published by the body that writes the exam. NASBA's own guidance on getting licensed directs candidates to the Candidate Guide specifically for exam length, formats and sample question types (NASBA), rather than stating a number itself. Because this figure sits in exam-content documentation rather than licensure documentation, and because it is the kind of detail that can be revised between testing cycles, the reliable move is to pull the current number directly from the Candidate Guide rather than from a secondary source. This matters for study planning: pacing strategy depends on knowing the real number for the cycle you are sitting, not a number from a prior year's guide.
How Many Questions Are on the FAR CPA Exam?

The specific number of questions on the FAR CPA Exam section is set by the AICPA and published in its Candidate Guide, which NASBA identifies as the authoritative source for exam length, format and sample question types. That figure is not published on NASBA's general licensure and exam pages, so candidates should check the current AICPA Candidate Guide directly before planning their study schedule.
What is this?
FAR, or Financial Accounting and Reporting, is one of the four sections of the Uniform CPA Examination, the exam required for individuals seeking to qualify as Certified Public Accountants (CPAs) in the United States (NASBA).
Key takeawayThe Uniform CPA Examination is required for individuals seeking to qualify as Certified Public Accountants, according to the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA).
NASBA
Key takeawayNASBA states that it does not develop the content of the CPA Exam nor score it.
NASBA
Key takeawayCandidates must pass all four sections of the CPA Exam before proceeding to license requirements, according to NASBA.
NASBA
Key takeawayNASBA directs candidates to the Candidate Guide for information about CPA Exam content, including length, formats and sample question types.
NASBA
Key takeawayEducation requirements to sit for the CPA Exam differ by state, according to NASBA.
NASBA
Key takeaways
- NASBA's own exam pages do not publish the exact FAR question count — that detail sits in the AICPA Candidate Guide, which NASBA points candidates to for exam length and format.
- FAR is one of the four sections of the Uniform CPA Examination that a candidate must pass before moving toward licensure.
- NASBA administers the licensure process but does not develop or score the CPA Exam itself.
- Exam content, format and question counts are the kind of detail that can change between testing cycles, so verify the current figure directly with the AICPA rather than relying on older articles.
- Education requirements to sit the exam differ by state, so eligibility to take FAR at all depends on the candidate's specific state board.
FAR — Financial Accounting and Reporting, one of the four sections of the Uniform CPA Examination.
Testlet — A grouped block of questions within a CPA Exam section, typically separating multiple-choice questions from task-based simulations.
Task-based simulation (TBS) — A CPA Exam question format that presents a scenario requiring the candidate to work through a multi-step accounting or research problem, rather than select from fixed answer choices.
Candidate Guide — The document published for CPA Exam candidates that covers exam content, length, format and sample question types, referenced by NASBA as the source for this detail.
How many total questions are on the FAR exam?
The exact total question count for FAR is not published on NASBA's general exam and licensure pages. NASBA points candidates to the Candidate Guide for details on exam length, format and sample question types.
How many multiple-choice questions (MCQs) vs task-based simulations (TBS) are on FAR?
The specific breakdown between multiple-choice questions and task-based simulations on FAR is not detailed in NASBA's licensure and exam pages. NASBA identifies the Candidate Guide as the source for exam format and sample question types.
CPA Exam sections generally combine multiple-choice questions with task-based simulations, but the precise split for FAR — how many of each, and in which testlets — is content detail that NASBA does not publish itself. NASBA's role is administrative: it works with state boards on licensure while explicitly stating it does not develop or score exam content (NASBA). For the current MCQ-to-TBS ratio on FAR, candidates need the Candidate Guide referenced by NASBA (NASBA), since this is exactly the kind of format detail that guide is designed to cover. Getting this ratio right before you start studying affects how you allocate practice time between drilling MCQs and working through multi-step simulations.
How is the FAR exam divided across testlets?
The specific testlet structure for FAR is not detailed in the NASBA sources reviewed for this article. This is exam-format information that sits in the Candidate Guide NASBA references.
CPA Exam sections are typically organized into separate blocks (testlets) that group question types together, but the exact number and arrangement of testlets for FAR specifically is not stated in NASBA's general licensure or exam overview pages. NASBA points to the Candidate Guide as the source for exam length and format details (NASBA). Understanding testlet structure matters for pacing because most candidates plan how much time to spend per block before moving on, and getting that plan from the current, official guide avoids working from an outdated structure — a real risk with a document that changes across testing cycles.
How much time is given for the FAR exam?
The specific time allotted for FAR is not stated in NASBA's general licensure and exam pages. NASBA directs candidates to the Candidate Guide for exam length details.
Total testing time is a core planning figure for any candidate, but it is content-specific information that NASBA does not publish on the pages covering licensure and the exam's general role (NASBA; NASBA). Rather than estimate, check the current Candidate Guide directly. Because testing time, like question count, can be revised between cycles, confirm the figure close to your scheduled test date rather than relying on a number from an earlier version of any guide, including this one.
Are all questions on FAR scored, or are some pretest/unscored?
Whether FAR includes unscored pretest questions is not addressed in the NASBA sources reviewed here. This falls under exam content and scoring methodology, which NASBA states it does not develop.
NASBA is explicit that it does not develop the content of the CPA Exam nor score it (NASBA), which means questions about which items count toward a candidate's score sit outside what NASBA's licensure pages cover. This is a common feature of large-scale standardized exams generally — some items are sometimes used for pretesting future content — but this article cannot state that as fact for FAR specifically without a source confirming it. Candidates who want certainty on this point should check the Candidate Guide or contact the body that develops and scores the exam content directly.
Has the FAR question count changed recently, for example due to CPA Evolution?
This article's sources do not confirm specific changes to FAR's question count. CPA Evolution is a known change initiative affecting the CPA Exam structure, but the sources reviewed here do not detail its numerical impact on FAR.
NASBA's pages confirm that candidates must pass four sections of the CPA Exam before proceeding toward licensure (NASBA), but they do not state whether or how question counts within FAR have changed over time. Exam structure is the kind of detail that is reviewed and can be updated between cycles, which is precisely why NASBA repeatedly points candidates toward the current Candidate Guide rather than stating figures on its own general pages. If you are comparing older study materials against a newer testing cycle, treat any older question-count figure as unverified until you check it against the current guide.
How does question count affect scoring and pacing strategy for FAR?
Knowing the exact question count and testlet structure lets a candidate build a per-testlet time budget, but this article cannot supply that number because NASBA's sources do not publish it. Confirm the current figures with the Candidate Guide before setting your pacing plan.
Pacing strategy — how many minutes per question or per testlet a candidate allows themselves — depends entirely on having the correct, current total question count, time allotment and testlet breakdown. Building a study and pacing plan around an unverified or outdated number is a common and avoidable mistake. Since NASBA is clear that exam content and scoring sit outside what it develops (NASBA), candidates should treat the Candidate Guide as the single source of truth for these figures, and revisit it close to their scheduled exam date rather than relying on any single article, including this one, for numbers that can shift between cycles. A closer look at the CPA exam pattern and CPA Exam Format can help frame how FAR fits into the exam as a whole while you wait on the official current figures.
Common mistakes
- Assuming an older article's stated question count still applies to the current testing cycle without checking the current Candidate Guide.
- Building a pacing plan around an estimated or remembered number instead of the officially published figure.
- Confusing NASBA, which administers licensure, with the body that develops and scores CPA Exam content.
- Treating state-specific eligibility rules as universal when they are set individually by each state board.
Who this is for
- CPA candidates who are actively scheduling or studying for the FAR section and need to plan pacing and study time
- Candidates comparing older FAR study materials against a newer testing cycle
Who may need more research
- Readers looking for a single confirmed number for FAR's question count with no further verification needed — that number must come from the current Candidate Guide directly
Ready to start on the real thing?
The Scholexo view
The gap in this article is worth naming rather than hiding: the bodies that govern CPA licensure publish extensively on eligibility, state requirements and the licensing pathway, but the granular exam-content details — question counts, testlet splits, timing — sit specifically in AICPA's Candidate Guide, not in NASBA's licensure pages. That split exists because NASBA and its member state boards handle licensure while exam content and scoring are developed separately. A candidate who wants a firm number for study planning should go to that specific document rather than piecing the figure together from general licensure pages, and should re-check it close to their test date since exam-format details are reviewed periodically.
Frequently asked
Sources & references
For a full breakdown of how FAR fits within the four-section exam structure, see the CPA exam pattern guide.
By Scholexo Team · Last updated 10 August 2026
