It is worth being precise here rather than guessing: CPA Canada is a distinct national accounting body governing its own designation in Canada, separate from the US system described in the sources behind this article (AICPA's ThisWayToCPA, NASBA). Those sources confirm that in the US, CPA stands for Certified Public Accountant — a title conferred by a state board of accountancy once a candidate meets that state's education, exam and experience requirements. If you specifically need CPA Canada's full form, mandate or governance structure, that information sits with CPA Canada itself, not with any US regulatory body. Confusing the two designations is a common mistake for candidates comparing international routes, since both share the initials 'CPA' but are administered under entirely separate legal and professional frameworks with no automatic equivalence between them.
CPA Canada vs US CPA: What the Requirements Actually Are

CPA Canada is a separate designation from the US CPA, and its specific requirements, fees and syllabus (CPA PREP, CPA PEP, Common Final Exam) are set by CPA Canada, not by any US body. The US CPA, by contrast, requires passing the Uniform CPA Examination and meeting licensure rules that are set individually by each US state board of accountancy.
What is this?
CPA Canada and the US CPA (Certified Public Accountant) are two separate professional accounting designations, governed independently. In the United States, a CPA is an individual licensed by a state board of accountancy after meeting that board's specific education, examination and experience requirements (NASBA); there is no single national US CPA authority. CPA Canada operates under its own separate framework, which is not described by the AICPA and NASBA sources used to build this article — its full form, structure and requirements should be verified directly with CPA Canada.
Key takeawayEach US state and territory has its own board of accountancy that sets CPA licensure rules covering education, exam eligibility, work experience, ethics and residency.
ThisWayToCPA (AICPA)
Key takeawayThe Uniform CPA Examination is designed to help ensure that only qualified individuals become licensed as US Certified Public Accountants, according to NASBA.
NASBA
Key takeawayNASBA does not develop the content of the Uniform CPA Examination, nor is it responsible for scoring the exam.
NASBA
Key takeawaySome US states require 150 total semester hours of education for a candidate to qualify to sit the CPA Exam, while other states may require less, according to NASBA.
NASBA
Key takeawayWhere a candidate takes the Uniform CPA Exam is not dependent on where they intend to practice, and CPA Exam scores can be transferred to any US state for licensure purposes.
NASBA
Key takeawayMany US states require at least one year of public accounting work experience to qualify for a CPA license, while others accept alternative experience such as teaching or self-employment.
NASBA
Key takeaways
- CPA Canada and the US CPA are two distinct professional accounting designations administered by two entirely separate governing bodies.
- The verified sources for this article are US-based (AICPA and NASBA) and do not describe CPA Canada's full form, fees or syllabus — check CPA Canada's official site for those.
- US CPA licensure requirements, including education hours, work experience and residency rules, are set individually by each US state board of accountancy, not by a single national body.
- Some US states require 150 total semester hours of education to sit the Uniform CPA Examination, while others require fewer, according to NASBA.
- NASBA does not write or score the Uniform CPA Examination — that is a separate function from its role in coordinating licensure information across states.
- A candidate can sit the Uniform CPA Exam in one US state and transfer the score to another for licensure, according to NASBA.
CPA (US) — A Certified Public Accountant is an individual licensed by a US state board of accountancy after meeting that state's education, examination and experience requirements.
State board of accountancy — The US government body in each state or territory responsible for setting and enforcing CPA licensure requirements in that jurisdiction.
Uniform CPA Examination — The examination that individuals seeking US CPA licensure are required to pass, according to NASBA.
CPA Mobility — A set of privileges, offered by most US states, that allow a licensed CPA to service clients across state borders without obtaining a separate license in each state.
Credential evaluation — A general term for the process by which a licensing body assesses whether a candidate's education and qualifications meet its requirements; specific processes for CPA Canada are not covered by the sources used here.
What does CPA stand for in CPA Canada (full form)?
The sources used for this article do not define CPA Canada's full form or describe CPA Canada as an organization — they cover only the US CPA framework. In the US context verified here, CPA stands for Certified Public Accountant, a designation granted by individual state boards of accountancy.
What are the eligibility/education requirements to become a CPA in Canada?
This is not something the sources used in this article can answer — they describe US CPA eligibility only, and none of them cover CPA Canada's education pathway. For CPA Canada's own eligibility criteria, you would need to consult CPA Canada's official published requirements directly.
What the verified sources for this article do establish is the US equivalent: US CPA eligibility is not a single national rule. Each US state and territory board of accountancy sets its own education requirements for exam eligibility (NASBA). Some states require 150 total semester hours of education before a candidate can sit the Uniform CPA Examination, while others require fewer hours (NASBA). States also layer on narrower conditions, such as a minimum number of hours in specific accounting or business courses, plus age and residency criteria that also vary by state (NASBA). If you are weighing whether your existing degree qualifies you, it is worth reading how this plays out for candidates without a conventional accounting background before assuming any single rule applies everywhere.
What is the total cost/fee structure (registration, tuition, exam fees, membership dues)?
No CPA Canada fee figures are in the sources used for this article, and no specific US CPA application, exam or licensing fee amounts are either — those figures are set separately and were not part of the verified data behind this piece. The one fee confirmed in these sources is unrelated to exam or licensing fees directly.
The only dollar figure confirmed across the sources is for a research tool, not the exam itself: NASBA's Accountancy Licensing Library (ALL) Research Tool costs $10 for unlimited searches over one day, and is designed to help a candidate identify which US state's requirements they match (NASBA). Actual CPA Exam application fees, exam section fees, and state licensing fees are set by individual state boards and are not published in the sources verified here — these figures also change over time. CPA Canada's registration, tuition and membership dues follow an entirely separate fee schedule set by CPA Canada, which is also outside what these sources cover. If cost planning is your main concern, it's worth checking a breakdown of course fees and duration for context on the US side before comparing further.
What is the CPA Canada syllabus/exam structure (CPA PREP, CPA PEP, Common Final Exam)?
The sources behind this article do not describe CPA PREP, CPA PEP, or the Common Final Exam — these are CPA Canada program components and fall outside the AICPA and NASBA sources used here. What is verified is the US equivalent: candidates must pass the Uniform CPA Examination to qualify as a US CPA.
It would be inaccurate to describe CPA PEP modules or the Common Final Exam's structure without a source that actually documents them, so this article does not. What can be stated with confidence, from NASBA, is that individuals seeking to qualify as CPAs in the US system are required to pass the Uniform CPA Examination, and that NASBA itself does not write the exam's content or score it — those functions sit elsewhere in the US CPA ecosystem (NASBA). If you want the actual section-by-section structure of the Uniform CPA Examination, that's covered separately in a dedicated breakdown of the exam format rather than repeated here. For CPA Canada's syllabus specifically, its own published program materials are the only reliable source.
How long does it take to complete CPA Canada?
There is no verified timeline for completing CPA Canada in the sources used for this article, so no duration figure is given here. For the US CPA side, the sources confirm a sequence — pass all four exam sections, then complete additional state-specific requirements such as work experience — but do not state a total number of months or years.
Duration depends on too many moving parts to state as a single number for either designation, and the sources behind this article support that caution rather than a figure. For the US CPA, NASBA confirms that after passing all four sections of the Uniform CPA Examination, a candidate must still complete other requirements — commonly work experience — to obtain a license in the state where they plan to practice, and these requirements vary by state (NASBA). That means total time to licensure is a function of a candidate's starting education, how many exam sections they pass per testing cycle, and how quickly they accumulate qualifying experience. None of the sources verified here give a CPA Canada timeline, so that figure should come directly from CPA Canada's own program documentation rather than an estimate.
How does CPA Canada differ from US CPA in terms of requirements, recognition, and process?
The clearest verified difference is structural: the US CPA has no single national requirement, since each of the fifty-plus US state and territory boards of accountancy sets its own education, exam and experience rules, whereas CPA Canada requirements (not covered by these sources) would be set by CPA Canada as a distinct national body. Recognition and process comparisons beyond this cannot be supported by the sources used here.
The one structural fact this article can state with confidence is that the US CPA is deliberately decentralized: each US state and territory board of accountancy sets its own rules for education, exam eligibility, work experience, ethics and residency, and these rules differ from state to state (AICPA's ThisWayToCPA). This means there is no single 'US CPA requirement' to hold up against CPA Canada's rules — comparing the two properly means comparing CPA Canada's national rules against one specific US state's rules, not against the US system in the abstract. On mutual recognition, mobility, or exam overlap between the two, the sources verified for this article do not provide those details, so this article does not claim any. A reader weighing both routes should check both CPA Canada's official reciprocity information and the specific US state board's mobility rules directly, since most US states now offer mobility privileges allowing CPAs to serve clients across state lines — a US-domestic provision, not an international one.
Is CPA Canada recognized internationally or does it have mutual recognition agreements (e.g., with US CPA, ACCA)?
This cannot be answered from the sources used in this article — none of them describe CPA Canada's international recognition status or any mutual recognition agreements with the US CPA or ACCA. That information would need to come from CPA Canada or the relevant reciprocal body directly.
It matters to say plainly that no source behind this article states whether a mutual recognition agreement exists between CPA Canada and the US CPA, or between CPA Canada and ACCA. Making that claim without a source that documents it would fail the basic standard this article holds itself to. What the sources do confirm, on the US side only, is a domestic mechanism: CPA Exam scores earned in one US state can be transferred to another state for licensure purposes, and most US states now offer mobility privileges letting a CPA service clients across state borders (NASBA). That is not the same as international recognition — it is interstate portability within one country. If cross-border recognition between CPA Canada and other bodies is your deciding factor, verify it directly with CPA Canada before making a decision based on assumption.
What are the career prospects/salary after CPA Canada?
No salary or career-outcome data for CPA Canada holders is included in the sources used for this article, so none is stated here. For US CPA salary information specifically, that data is covered separately and should be checked there rather than assumed from this piece.
This article is built strictly from AICPA and NASBA sources describing US CPA licensure, and none of them contain salary, employment or career-outcome statistics for either the US CPA or CPA Canada. Stating a figure here without that grounding would violate the standard this article is held to, so none is given. What is verified instead is the qualification structure that leads to employability: a CPA license in the US is granted only after a candidate demonstrates competence through education, the Uniform CPA Examination, and accounting work experience, as set by the relevant state board (NASBA). If salary is your main research question, a dedicated CPA salary breakdown covers that ground directly rather than being folded into an eligibility-focused article.
What you need
- US CPA: education requirements (including total semester hours, which is 150 in some states and fewer in others) set individually by the candidate's state board of accountancy
- US CPA: passing all four sections of the Uniform CPA Examination
- US CPA: accounting work experience — commonly at least one year of public accounting experience in many states, though alternatives like teaching, self-employment or part-time work are accepted in some states
- US CPA: state-specific criteria such as age, residency and specific accounting/business course hours, which vary by jurisdiction
- CPA Canada: not covered by the sources used in this article — verify directly with CPA Canada
| Aspect | US CPA | CPA Canada |
|---|---|---|
| Governing body | Individual state boards of accountancy in the US; NASBA coordinates licensure information across states | Not covered by the sources used in this article |
| Required exam | Uniform CPA Examination | Not covered by the sources used in this article |
| Education requirement | Varies by state; some require 150 total semester hours, others require less | Not covered by the sources used in this article |
| Work experience | Varies by state; many require at least one year of public accounting experience, others accept alternatives | Not covered by the sources used in this article |
| Fees | Set by individual state boards; not specified numerically in the sources used here (except the $10 NASBA ALL tool) | Not covered by the sources used in this article |
| Domestic portability | Most US states offer mobility privileges to serve clients across state lines | Not covered by the sources used in this article |
Common mistakes
- Assuming 'CPA' means the same thing and follows the same rules in Canada and the United States, when they are governed by entirely separate bodies.
- Treating US CPA requirements as one national standard rather than checking the specific rules of the state board where licensure is intended.
- Assuming a CPA Exam score or license transfers internationally in the same way it can transfer between US states under mobility privileges.
- Budgeting for CPA costs using a single fee figure, when state boards, exam providers and review course fees are all separate and vary.
Who this is for
- Accounting and commerce students deciding between the US CPA and CPA Canada as a professional pathway
- Working professionals in accounting evaluating a US CPA license for career mobility within the United States
- US CPA aspirants who need to understand that eligibility is state-specific before choosing where to apply
Who may need more research
- Readers who need CPA Canada's specific fees, syllabus or eligibility rules — this article cannot supply those and points you to CPA Canada directly
- Readers who need exact CPA Exam or licensing fee amounts — these are not specified in the sources used here
Ready to start on the real thing?
The Scholexo view
Candidates researching 'CPA Canada requirements' are often really trying to answer a different question: whether to pursue the US CPA, CPA Canada, or both. That comparison only works once you accept that neither is a single fixed rulebook — the US CPA is fifty-plus separate state rulebooks, and CPA Canada's own criteria sit outside what this article's sources can confirm. The practical move is to stop treating either as a monolith: pick the specific US state board (if going the US route) or CPA Canada's own published criteria (if going that route), and compare those two concrete rulebooks against each other — not the brand names.
Frequently asked
Sources & references
If you're evaluating the US CPA route specifically, start with the CPA course page to see syllabus, eligibility and fee guidance in one place.
By Scholexo Team · Last updated 10 August 2026
